Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Toerisme / Tourism: Databases

World of Leisure

Databases

Information about tourism can be found in the NHL Stenden Library databases as well. There are databases that contain (academic) journal articles, market information or e-books.

If you don’t know the name of the database you want to use, the link Databases by course will lead you to a list with databases ordered on type of information: The databases containing journal articles are listed under the heading Journal articles: These are the Business Source Premier, the Hospitality and Tourism Complete, Sage Premier and ScienceDirect. These databases are in English. Articles on various aspects of tourism can be found in each of these databases. The databases containing market information are listed under the heading Market information, etc.

If you know the name of the database, then the alphabetical list of All databases on the NHL Stenden Library web page is useful.

In the boxes below you can see a number of useful databases.

Hospitality and Tourism Complete

In the Hospitality and Tourism Complete database you can use the AND, OR and NOT operators to make combinations of different keywords. The Thesaurus (top menu) provides a list with keywords and the relationships between the keywords On the left of the screen you can limit the results to year, publication type, full text etc.

Sage Premier

 

SAGE Premier is a database with online access to over 500 SAGE journals covering a wide range of subjects areas, including business humanities, social science, technology and medicine. NHL Stenden Library has access to the content of the last 10 years.

The Advanced search allows you to make combinations with keywords using the Boolean operators, for example: Tourism AND Policy AND Cities. Filter the results on article type and date.

Science Direct

The full text database Science Direct published by Elsevier contains articles covering a wide range of subject areas, including Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Arts and Humanities, Business, Management and Accounting, Economics and Finance, Psychology and Social Sciences. Stenden has access to the content of the last 5 years.

Digital Tourism Think Tank

undefined

The Digital Tourism Think Tank is a professional industry platform that facilitates the exchange of knowledge, best practice, thought leadership and expertise in digital. Find with Members Insights: Best practices, Case studies, Talks, Reports and Templates

UNWTO ELibrary - World Tourism Organization - Engelstalig

 

In the database WTO-eLibrary you can find all the publications from the World Tourism Organisation. The subject areas reflect all important themes moving the tourism sector and include, among other, ecotourism, sustainable development, finance and investment, risk and crisis management, market research, tourism statistics and poverty alleviation. The UNWTO Elibrary contains books, journals and statistical reports by country and by indicator.

An interesting publication about global tourism is:  

OECD iLibrary

In the OECD i-Library you can find books on many topics like:  economics, political science, environmental studies, energy, education, social sciences and health.

They publish the following book every two year. It contains a description of trends in tourism worldwide but also descriptions of tourism in 50 different countries, also the Netherlands are described.

MarketLine

undefined

Zoek via de NHL Stenden bibliotheek website in de databank MarketLine naar de Travel & Tourism rapporten van verschillende landen. MarketLine bevat Country profiles (PESTLE analysis), Industry Profiles (5 Forces analysis), Company profiles (SWOT analysis), Cases studies, Company news en Statistical databases..

 

CompanyInfo

The CompanyInfo database can be found on the NHL Stenden Library webpage. Use the link to All databases or Database by course. CompanyInfo contains annual reports from Dutch, but also market reports and sector links. For example from the sports sector.

The corresponding annual reports, market reports and sector links are provided at the organizational level.