Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sport: Databases

Databases

Information about sports can be found in NHL Stenden Library databases as well. There are databases that contain (academic) journal articles, market information or e-books. undefined

Click on Databases by course for the Leisure& Tourism databases

The databases with journal articles can be found under the heading Journal articles. Try the Business Source Premier, de Hospitality and Tourism Complete, Sage Premier en ScienceDirect.

Each of these databases contains articles on different aspects of sports.

The Databases with market reports can be found under the heading Market Information. Try the databases Marketline or CompanyInfo.

Access each of these databases in the boxes below.

MarketLine

Search MarketLine via the NHL Stenden Library webpage for sport to find the the Industry report on Gyms, health and fitness clubs in different countries, Company profiles, Cases studies and Company news.

Hospitality and Tourism Complete & Business Source Complete

In the Hospitality and Tourism Complete database you can use the AND, OR and NOT operators to make combinations of different keywords (like: sport* and policy, sport* and public policy, sport participation, sport organizations etc. The Thesaurus (top menu) provides a list with keywords and the relationships between the keywords On the left of the screen you can limit the results to year, publication type, full text etc.

The Business Source Ultimate database has the same search features as the Hospitality and Tourism Complete. The content of the Business Source covers coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. It contains full text information such as market research reports, country reports, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and top management and marketing journals.

Science Direct

The full text database Science Direct published by Elsevier contains articles covering a wide range of subject areas, including Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Arts and Humanities, Business, Management and Accounting, Economics and Finance, Psychology and Social Sciences. NHL Stenden has access to the content of the last 5 years.

CompanyInfo

The CompanyInfo database can be found on the NHL Stenden Library webpage. Use the link to All databases or Database by course. CompanyInfo contains annual reports from Dutch and international companies, organizations, but also market reports (use the "More" tab in the menu) and sector links. For the English language click the question mark in the top right hand corner.

undefined

 

The corresponding annual reports, market reports and sector links are provided at the organizational level.

Sage Premier

SAGE Premier is a database with online access to over 500 SAGE journals covering a wide range of subjects areas, including business humanities, social science, technology and medicine. NHL Stenden Library has access to the content of the last 10 years.

The Advanced search allows you to combine words in different fields (like title, author, keywords or abstract) and select "Only content to which I have full access". Filter the results on article type  and date