Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journals, Books and eBooks
Journal of Advertising Research
ISBN: 1740-1909 (online).
Seeks to act as a research and development tool for professionals in all areas of marketing including media, research, advertising and communications..
Journal of Business-to-Business Marketing
ISBN: 1547-0628 (online).
Will publish quality research to reflect the state of scholarship and practice throughout the world. Will feature diverse approaches to business marketing theory development and problem solving..
Journal of Communication.
ISBN: 1460-2466 (online).
Articles and book reviews examining a broad range of issues in communication theory, research, practice and policy..
Journal of Management.
ISBN: 1557-1211 (online).
Covers issues pertinent to the field of management and its associated disciplines..
Journal of marketing
ISBN: 1547-7185 online
An international journal of articles on new ideas in marketing, the thinking, theory and practice, and a forum for debate..
Books and E-books
In the catalogue you will find the printed and E-book collection of NHL Stenden Library. You can search by title, keyword, author, and many other terms the entire collection or the collection of a particular location.
Search in the Discovery Service for all sources, printed and digital as well (for example: articles, papers, books and E-books).
E-books: Online versions of many books of great scientific publishers.
The database includes EBSCO e-books in almost all academic disciplines.
Highlight: Wine Positioning : A Handbook with 30 Case Studies of Wine Brands and Wine Regions in the World [eBook]
- This book introduces readers to the concept and implementation of positioning techniques in the context of the wine industry. Featuring 30 case studies on brands and wine regions around the world - all based on the same principles - it presents a successful, cutting-edge strategy for the marketing of wine. Rather than focusing on a small group of elitist appellations, the Grand Crus universe and a handful of star brands, the book addresses the real, day-to-day wine world. In light of globalization, it introduces state-of-the-art wine positioning techniques, with an emphasis on the identity, segmentation and positioning of wine appellations and wine brands. In its analysis of wine appellation models, the book examines local parameters like geology, history and wine growing techniques; compares facts, figures and actors; analyzes the signals that are being sent to the market and presents a range of key factors for success. Similarly, the wine brands models are analyzed on the basis of their respective brand identity and apparent marketing policy. In the book's final part, it summarizes recent developments in wine marketing, including the growing importance of wine brands as new territories in the global vineyard, and the role of appellations as the essence of cultural diversity.
Branding a Store [eBook] by Shopping is our culture's single most important leisure activity. Everyone does it, everywhere and almost every day. For shopkeepers, their retail market is will be seeing drastic change. Those wishing to stay ahead of ruthless competition will be forced to create a strong brand name and individual identity for their businesses. Branding a Store shows how to make your shop a winner. Retail specialist Ko Floor translates more than 30 years of retail experience into a survival strategy for stores, explaining how to implement that plan to achieve an original and appealing retail enterprise. In this book, Floor discusses food as well as non-food retail sites in Europe and the U.S. and examines all the ingredients that go into creating a strong brand name. Variety, price, shopping convenience and enjoyment, charisma, shop design, advertising, personnel: the perfect mix guarantees distinctive positioning, an individual character and clear-cut communications. Branding a Store is a must-have for professionals who earn their living in the retail business, full of practical, effective tips on how retail stores can win the ‘battle of the brands', a book to benefit retailers, manufacturers, ad agencies and retail training courses..
Publication Date: 2010-04-01
Building Cultural Competence [eBook] by For HR directors, corporate trainers, college administrators, diversity trainers and study abroad educators, this book provides a cutting-edge framework and an innovative collection of ready-to-use tools and activities to help build cultural competence—from the basics of understanding core concepts of culture to the complex work of negotiating identity and resolving cultural differences.Building Cultural Competence presents the latest work in the intercultural field and provides step-by-step instructions for how to effectively work with the new models, frameworks, and exercises for building learners'cultural competence. Featuring fresh activities and tools from experienced coaches, trainers, and facilitators from around the globe, this collection of over 50 easy-to-use activities and models has been used successfully worldwide in settings that range from Fortune 500 corporations to the World Bank, non-profits, and universities. Learn updates on classic models like the DIE (Description, Interpretation, Evaluation) framework and the U-Curve model of adjustment. Engage in new exercises to help build intercultural competence, using the practical step-by-step guidance on how to effectively facilitate these activities. Stay relevant and have positive impact with clients, organizations, and students with these well-organized, easy-to-implement, and high impact collection of frameworks, models, and activities.This new, research-based 4-stage model works for developing cultural competence in any environment, and for designing effective cultural competence courses. Education abroad administrators will be able to use these activities in their pre-departure orientations for students going abroad. Corporate human resource professionals will find these activities invaluable in cultural competence building programs..
Publication Date: 2012-10-29
Buyer Personas [eBook] by Named one of Fortune Magazine's “5 Best Business Books” in 2015See your offering through the buyer's eyes for more effective marketing Buyer Personas is the marketer's actionable guide to learning what your buyer wants and how they make decisions. Written by the world's leading authority on buyer personas, this book provides comprehensive coverage of a compelling new way to conduct buyer studies, plus practical advice on adopting the buyer persona approach to measurably improve marketing outcomes. Readers will learn how to segment their customer base, investigate each customer type, and apply a radically more relevant process of message selection, content creation, and distribution through the channels that earn the buyers'trust. Rather than relying on generic data or guesswork to determine what the buyer wants, the buyer persona approach allows companies to ask the buyer directly and obtain more precise and actionable guidance. Buyer personas are composite pictures of the people who buy solutions, services or products, crafted through a unique type of interview with the people the marketer wants to influence. This book provides step-by-step guidance toward implementing the buyer persona approach, with the advice of an internationally-respected expert. Learn who buys what, and why Understand your buyer's goals and how you can address them Tailor your marketing activities to your buyer's expectations See the purchase through the customer's eyes A recent services industry survey reports that 52 percent of their marketers have buyer personas, and another 28 percent expect to add them within the next two years – but only 14.6 percent know how to use them. To avoid letting such a valuable tool go to waste, access the expert perspective in Buyer Personas, and craft a more relevant marketing strategy..
Publication Date: 2015-03-09
Contemporary Wine Studies by The purchase and consumption of wine, whether in hospitality environments or domestic settings, has huge anthropological significance underpinned by a discourse of wine appreciation. It can be seen as a multi-sensory and symbolically status-rich activity framed by historical, social, cultural and ethical discourses. This innovative book offers a critical study of wine from social and cultural perspectives. The field of wine studies spans the spectrum of cultural and technical issues concerning the place of wine in society from viticulture, vinification, labelling, regulation, marketing, purchasing, storage and its final consumption. It combines social history and contemporary questions including the notion of terroir, the nature of protected wine designations, the pricing of wine and the different motivations for buying and consuming wine. It considers wine as a beverage, as an aesthetic exercise and as a marker of status, as well as health implications and legal controls. The title offers a timely contribution into the significance of wine and the role of knowledge, both of which have conceptual and managerial implications in terms of marketing, promotion, consumption and distribution. By offering a holistic and innovative understanding of wine and its consumption, it is a must-read for students and scholars in the fields of wine and social science..
Publication Date: 2015-09-25
Dealing with the Dutch: the cultural context of business and work in the Netherlands by The subject of this book is the everyday working culture of the Dutch. It is intended for people from other countries who have contacts with the Netherlands through work or business: incoming expatriates, business people coming here for shorter periods, and those who work with the Dutch on a regular basis, either in Holland or abroad.
Publication Date: cop. 2010
Essential Guide to Marketing Planning [eBook] by Use this 4th edition to gain insights from the experiences of marketers worldwide and apply your knowledge to develop a marketing plan of your own. Chapters guide you through researching your market, analysing your competitive situation, objectives setting and deciding on marketing strategies to develop a creative, effective marketing plan for any product..
Publication Date: Fourth edition. Harlow, England : Pearson. 2017.
Export/Import Procedures and Documentation [eBook] by The details of international business are growing more complex by the day—and even the most seasoned professionals can find themselves in need of guidance. This comprehensive answer book supplies readers with a clear view of the entire export/import process, explaining the ins and outs of shipping and insurance; payment mechanisms; distributors vs. agents; customs and export control requirements; and transportation issues. Featuring dozens of sample contracts, procedures, checklists, and ready-to-use forms—Export/Import Procedures and Documentation is an authoritative voice in the everchanging, often confusing world of international laws and regulations. The revised fifth edition contains new and expanded information on topics including: Corporate oversight and compliance • Valuation • The Export Control Reform Act • Licensing requirements and exceptions • International Commerce Trade Terminology • The shifting definition of “Country of Origin” • Specialized exporting and importing • And more Thorough and accessible, this trusted resource provides readers with the tools they need to manage supply chain dynamics around the world, and keep everything organized, up-to-date, and above board each step of the way..
Publication Date: 2015-02-18
Exporting [eBook] by Laurel Delaney writes in a tremendous spirit of service to entrepreneurial and small business leaders navigating the opportunities of globalization. Whether leading a fresh startup, a small business, or an entrepreneurial growth company seeking greatness, the question of whether—and how—to go global must be addressed. Delaney shows yet again her passionate dedication to serving her readers with deeply practical guidance.”—Jim Collins, author of Good to Great and co-author of Beyond Entrepreneurship Gain the knowledge you need to market, sell, and fulfill orders internationally, taking full advantage of the Internet and the opportunities it creates. This book is the bible for entrepreneurs and small business owners taking their US businesses to the next level of growth through exports. Exporting empowers readers with the can-do confidence to tackle the challenges and opportunities of exporting, leading to greater revenues, stability, and profitability for your business. With 70 percent of global buying power lying outside US borders, exporting is not just an option for ambitious entrepreneurs—it's an absolute must for building and sustaining a successful future. Typically, exporting first appears on the radar of small businesses as unsolicited inquiries from foreign customers on the web via your email, website, blog, or Facebook page. People outside your country want your product, and they want it now. The problem is that most small business owners do not know how to service these inquiries. What's the best way to ship goods? Do I need a license? Should I sell through wholesalers in specific countries or directly to consumers? How will I get paid? Reflecting the rapid rate of change in national and global trade regulations and economic conditions, this second edition contains extensive updates and enhancements of the first edition's data and citations; actual and prospective multilateral trade agreements, especially the TPP and TTIP; CFR, EAR, and BIS rules; interviews with trade and sector specialists; economic trends and shocks affecting export opportunities and risks in various regions and sectors; and the annotated selection of recommended exporting resource sites. Exporting: The Definitive Guide to Selling Abroad Profitably: Lays out simple steps and tips to conduct market research, find customers, open new markets, create an export business plan, get paid, and ship goods and services efficiently and profitablyShows you how to use the Internet and social media to mediate the exporting process and expand your international presenceDetails how the US government helps exporters and how to avoid foreign regulatory pitfalls.
Publication Date: 2016-10-19
Export Strategy: Markets and Competition (RLE Marketing) [eBook] by This book offers management students and managers new insights by approaching exporting from the perspective of marketing planning, rather than the mechanics of export practice. The author evaluates the widely recommended strategy of key market concentration, showing its weaknesses and the flaws in the supporting evidence. The book provides the reader with a framework for making an explicit and informed choice between the real market options faced in practical export situations, which takes into account the many company and market factors shaping such strategies. Closely related to market strategy is the competitive base for a company's exporting, particularly in balancing price and non-price forms of competition, and this is assessed in the second part of the book..
Publication Date: 2014-03-09
The Good Company by The Good Company tells the stories of over 30 inspiring companies around the world that are among the ethical leaders in the industry. The broad positive message is encouraging and enervating; each of the companies seeks to live up to the highest standard. The authors tell the steps they have taken and what has motivated them or enabled them to pursue such noble aims.'At last, a book that tackles the topic of sustainability in the global travel industry, but with a real understanding of its economic importance as a better alternative - a must read.'--Michael MCloskey, Former Chairman, The Sierra Club 'This much-needed work is essentially a cookbook, filled with inspiring recipes for sustainable travel. This will be a valuable resource - for everyone from students to industry leaders - for many years to come.'--Jeff Greenwald, Executive DIrector, Ethical Traveler.
Publication Date: 2015-08-28
How Cool Brands Stay Hot : Branding to Generations Y and Z [eBook] by How Cool Brands Stay Hot analyses Generations Y and Z, the most marketing savvy and advertising-critical generations yet. It reveals how millennials think, feel and behave, offering applicable, proven strategies to market to these age groups more effectively and remain a relevant, appealing brand. Featuring interviews with global marketing executives of successful brands such as the BBC, Converse, Coca-Cola, eBay and MasterCard along with case studies from companies including H&M, Converse, MTV and Forever21, it guides you in developing the right strategies to reach this critical age group and leave a lasting impact on your business. Previous editions of How Cool Brands Stay Hot have won the prestigious 2012 Berry-AMA Book Prize for the best book in marketing and the 2011 Expert Marketing Magazine's Marketing Book of the Year award. This fully revised 3rd edition of How Cool Brands Stay Hot goes beyond the discussion of Generation Y, expanding its reach with an entirely new chapter on Generation Z and a detailed analysis of the impact that issues such as recession, social media and mobile marketing have had on these consumers. Based on new figures, case studies and interviews, it provides a fresh take on what remain critical issues for anyone hoping to market to those who come after Generation X
ISBN: 9780749477172. 9780749477219. .
Publication Date: 2016
Import/Export Kit for Dummies [eBook] by 'Your easy-to-follow primer on the exciting world of import/export With an increased focus on global trade, this new edition of Import/Export Kit For Dummies provides entrepreneurs and small- to mid-sized businesses with the critical, entry-point information they need to begin exporting their products around the world as well as importing goods to sell. Inside, you'll find the most up-to-date information on trade regulations, where to turn for additional guidance on seamlessly navigating the dreaded red tape, and much more,'--Amazon.com..
Publication Date: 2015-10-12
Intercultural Communication for Everyday Life [eBook] by Written for students studying intercultural communication for the first time, this textbook gives a thorough introduction to inter- and cross-cultural concepts with a focus on practical application and social action. Provides a thorough introduction to inter- and cross-cultural concepts for beginning students with a focus on practical application and social action Defines “communication” broadly using authors from a variety of sub disciplines and incorporating scientific, humanistic, and critical theory Constructs a complex version of culture using examples from around the world that represent a variety of differences, including age, sex, race, religion, and sexual orientation Promotes civic engagement with cues toward individual intercultural effectiveness and giving back to the community in socially relevant ways Weaves pedagogy throughout the text with student-centered examples, text boxes, applications, critical thinking questions, a glossary of key terms.
ISBN: 9781444332360. 9781118558881. 9781118559017
Publication Date: 2014
Intercultural sensitivity : from denial to intercultural competence by Intercultural Sensitivity is about to learn about cultures. It makes the readers aware of the uniqueness of cultures, which they think is the most normal thing in the world. They will also discover culture as a valuable resource. This book uses the cultural models by Kluckhohn, Hall and Hofstede and the the 7 Cultural Dimensions by Trompenaars.
Publication Date: 2014
International Business [eBook] by We live in a global economy in which over one quarter of the world's recorded output is exported, where a change in business practice in Beijing can have a direct impact on a workforce in Birmingham, and where support to a customer in Detroit can be provided from Delhi. This book provides a clear and concise introduction to this most interdisciplinary of subjects, explaining in straightforward language the economic and financial underpinnings of international business, and the more subtle organisational and cultural issues increasingly crucial to business success. The managerial challenges which face organisations of all types and sizes, no matter where they are located, are reviewed and explored..
Publication Date: 2015-04-20
Malcolm Mcdonald on Marketing Planning [eBook] by A primer for marketing professionals and students, the second edition of Malcolm McDonald on Marketing Planning provides a clear guide to marketing planning. Focussing on the practical application of marketing planning this book will guide readers through the production of a marketing plan that has real world application. Key content includes defining markets and segments, setting marketing objectives and strategies, advertising and sales promotion strategies, and price and sales strategies.With an emphasis on practicality this fully revised second edition has been thoroughly overhauled to contain new content on the essentials of marketing planning and the strategic marketing process..
Publication Date: 2016-11-28
Marketing Plans [eBook] by A fully revised and updated 8th edition of the highly renowned international bestseller The 8th edition of this highly acclaimed bestseller is thoroughly revised with every chapter having been updated with special attention to the latest developments in marketing. Marketing Plans is designed as a tool and a user–friendly learning resource. Every point illustrated by powerful practical examples and made actionable through simple, step–by–step templates and exercises. The book is established as essential reading for all serious professional marketers and students of marketing, from undergraduate and postgraduate to professional courses for bodies such as CIM. Above all it provides a practical, hands–on guide to implementing every single concept included in the text. New chapters and content include: A ‘Does it Work'feature throughout demonstrating examples of real successes using the processes in the book More substantial coverage of consumer behaviour to balance the book's focus with B2B planning Digital techniques and practices brought fully up to date Also includes a comprehensive online Tutors'Guide and Market2Win Simulator for those who teach marketing strategy.
Publication Date: 2016-11-21
Masculinity and Femininity by Masculinity/Femininity as a dimension of culture / by Geert Hofstede; Validating the masculinity/femininity dimension on elites from 19 countries / by Michael H. Hoppe; Femininity and subjective well-being / by Willem A. Arrindell; Masculinity/femininity and consumer behavior / by Marieke de Mooij; The cultural construction of gender / by Geert Hofstede; Masculinity and femininity in the self and ideal self descriptions of university students in 14 countries / by Deborah L. Best en John E. Williams; Gender role gaps, competitiveness, and temperature / by Evert van de Vliert; Why children play: American versus Dutch boys and girls / by Jacques H.A. van Rossum; Femininity shock: American students in the Netherlands / by Mieke Vunderink en Geert Hofstede; Comparative studies of sexual behavior: sex as achievement or as relationship / by Geert Hofstede; The importance of femininity in explaining cross-national differences in secularization / by Johan Verweij; Religion, masculinity, and sex / by Geert Hofstede.
Publication Date: 1998-05-13
Online Consumer Behavior [eBook] by Social media (e.g., Facebook, LinkedIn, Groupon, Twitter) have changed the way consumers and advertisers behave. It is crucial to understand how consumers think, feel and act regarding social media, online advertising, and online shopping. Business practitioners, students and marketers are trying to understand online consumer experiences that help instill brand loyalty. This book is one of the first to present scholarly theory and research to help explain and predict online consumer behavior..
Publication Date: 2012-04-25
PESTLE Analysis : Understand and Plan for Your Business Environment [eBook] by Prepare the best strategies in advanceThis book is a practical and accessible guide to understanding and implementing the PESTLE analysis, providing you with the essential information and saving time.In 50 minutes you will be able to: • Understand the uses of the PESTLE analysis and how it can be useful for your business • Categorize the macroeconomic variables of your business into the six different sections of the PESTLE analysis: Political, Economic, Socio-cultural, Technological, Legal and Environmental. • Analyze your findings and use the information to construct possible future scenarios and plan the best action to take in advanceABOUT 50MINUTES.COM | Management & Marketing50MINUTES.COM provides the tools to quickly understand the main theories and concepts that shape the economic world of today. Our publications are easy to use and they will save you time. They provide elements of theory and case studies, making them excellent guides to understand key concepts in just a few minutes. In fact, they are the starting point to take action and push your business to the next level..
Wine Positioning by This book introduces readers to the concept and implementation of positioning techniques in the context of the wine industry. Featuring 30 case studies on brands and wine regions around the world - all based on the same principles - it presents a successful, cutting-edge strategy for the marketing of wine. Rather than focusing on a small group of elitist appellations, the Grand Crus universe and a handful of star brands, the book addresses the real, day-to-day wine world. In light of globalization, it introduces state-of-the-art wine positioning techniques, with an emphasis on the identity, segmentation and positioning of wine appellations and wine brands. In its analysis of wine appellation models, the book examines local parameters like geology, history and wine growing techniques; compares facts, figures and actors; analyzes the signals that are being sent to the market and presents a range of key factors for success. Similarly, the wine brands models are analyzed on the basis of their respective brand identity and apparent marketing policy. In the book's final part, it summarizes recent developments in wine marketing, including the growing importance of wine brands as new territories in the global vineyard, and the role of appellations as the essence of cultural diversity..
Publication Date: 2015-11-27