Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Creative business: PPD: Books

Finding books

Books and e-books

In de displays below you will find examples of books and e-books relating to Personal and professional development (PPD)  available in NHL Stenden library. The following topics are included: Creativity, Reflection, Curiousity, Problem solving, Empathy, Logic en Argumenting, Entrepreneurship, Leadership, Cooperation, Ethics, Communication, Intercultural communication and Cultural differences. 

Some of the books are part of the Ebsco E-book collection en can be read online or you can save/download/print pages from these books. Find out by moving the cursor over the title of the book.
 

Finding books

Use Catalogue NHLStenden library to locate these books in the library or use the eBooks databases to find e-books on your topic. Want to know how to find more books in hardcopy or e-books in the library? Use the Information literacy libguide to find out: Information literacy - I want to find a book and Information literacy - Topics and search terms

Creativity

Creativity today / Byttebier & Vullings

If you want to learn how to generate and enrich ideas more easily. If you want to become an inspiring coach for creative sessions. If you want to grasp the do’s and don’ts of applying creativity in organizations. Creativity Today is an applied management book, it is clear, fun and practical. It will be your personal coach, providing you with exercises, inspiration and knowledge that you can apply immediately. Includes Creation today where the authors outline various cases on applied creativity. You will learn to discover implicit processes in your organization and how to use inspiration, co-creation and experimentation as energizers.

Defining creativity: The art and science of great ideas / Boon

The reason why creativity is perceived as a concept that is hard to grasp is that we still haven't really figured out what happens in our brain when we invoke it. In fact, we can hardly invoke it on demand. But although it shows up quite randomly, creativity is essential; our entire world is built on it. Defining Creativity comprehensively explains what creativity is, from a biological, psychological and sociocultural standpoint. At the same time, it makes for a concise and inspiring read that brings together everything there is to know about creativity.

The secret of the highly creative thinker: How to make connections others don't / Nielsen

People who are good at having ideas are good at seeing connections. Could teaching people to see connections be a way to help them be more creative? Over the years, there's a need for a book on creativity that complements the teaching of the creative process and tools and gives you a practical approach to how to enhance your innate ability to think creatively.

Creative thinker's exercise book: Exercise book / Nielsen

Practical hands-on workbook, the perfect outlet to get your hands dirty and dive into exercises that strengthen one's ability to see and make connections. This book is for those seeking to enhance their creativity. It can be used to: - Develop one's creative capacity - Train underlying mechanisms in creative thinking - Enrich educational  purpose  - Increase idea production. This exercise book is a spin-off to The Secret of the Highly Creative Thinker.

Creative Confidence : Unleashing the Creative Potential Within Us All / Kelley & Kelley

Too often, companies and individuals assume that creativity and innovation are the domain of the "creative types."  David and Tom Kelley identify the principles and strategies that will allow us to tap into our creative potential in our work lives, and in our personal lives, and allow us to innovate in terms of how we approach and solve problems. It is a book that will help each of us be more productive and successful in our lives and in our careers.

Think! Before it's too late / De Bono

De Bono examines why we think the way we do from a historical perspective and uses some of his famous thinking techniques, such as lateral thinking, combined with new ideas to show us how to change the way we think. If we strengthen our ability and raise our thinking level, other areas of our life - both personal and business success - will improve.

Omdenken: the Dutch art of flip-thinking / Gunster

This practical booklet shows what flip-thinking means and how to do it. To flip through, to come up with ideas, to be put on the wrong track and especially to trigger your own creative ability. In short, look, think and – particularly – create.

Creativity in Business: The basic guide for generating and selecting ideas / Byttebier

The book outlines the 4 step creative process:

- Ask the right questions, - Generate a lot of ideas, - Select the right ones, - Start implementing

The Imagination Gap : Stop Thinking the Way You Should and Start Making Extraordinary Things Happen

The author outlines how the strongest leaders show others how to use their imaginations to expand their individual and collective potential. In a rapidly changing world with so many choices and challenges to face, we must draw on our imagination more than ever before. Imagination makes the difference between projects that succeed and those that don't, and is the key ingredient that transforms an idea from interesting into world-changing. With in-depth interviews and examples from a range of industries and settings including. Includes specific, actionable guidance and steps to follow to stop thinking the way you “should” and start making extraordinary things happen.

Coperation

Business models for teams / Clark & Hazen

Most leaders make the mistake of over-relying on verbal and written communications. But that approach is outmoded in today's systems-driven world. Using the same visual tools that made Business Model Generation and Business Model You so successful worldwide, Business Models for Teams lets you visually depict how any team really works — and how each person fits in. The Business Models for Teams toolkit provides the missing half of teambuilding, plus a research-based engagement method that works for employees of all ages.

Vaardigheden voor het samenwerken in teams / Oudenhoven & Grutterink

Dit boek richt zich op de cruciale sociale vaardigheden die nodig zijn om medewerkers goed en professioneel te laten samenwerken en teamprestaties neer te zetten, zonder individuele doelen uit het oog te verliezen.Vaardigheden voor het samenwerken in teams is een toegankelijk geschreven boek dat kernvaardigheden als samenwerken, besluitvorming, conflicthantering, voorzitten, onderhandelen, presenteren, leidinggeven en omgaan met diversiteit koppelt aan het werken in teams. Vanuit diverse sectoren vindt de gebruiker voorbeelden, oefeningen en trainingen

Teams : A Competency Based Approach / Ramirez

Identifying and building the necessary competencies to leverage successful group experiences With exercises and activities designed to allow readers to engage with the material and build specific team-oriented competencies, this book offers undergraduate students interested in management, team building, and human resource training the tools needed for successful group experiences.

Leadership

Relational leadership: theory, practice and development / Clarke

At its core, relational leadership recognises leadership as centred in the relationships that form between both formal and informal leaders and those that follow them, far more so than the personality or behaviours of individual leaders. This book introduces readers to the most up-to-date research in this area and the differing theoretical perspectives that can help us better understand leadership as a relational phenomenon. Important characteristics of effective leadership relationships such as trust, respect and mutuality are discussed, focusing on how they develop and how they bring about leadership effects. Specific forms of relational leadership such as shared leadership, responsible leadership, global team leadership and complexity leadership are addressed in subsequent chapters.

Leadership in practice: theory and cases in leadership character / Seijts & McMillan

This book provides an authoritative collection of cases situating them within a theoretical landscape, so students are familiarized with the concepts as they move through the text. The cases cover a wide range of successful businesses—from the NFL to Apple—and include notable controversies, such as those surrounding Enron and Volkswagen. Alongside exclusive interviews and insights into the value of leadership character at individual, team, organizational and societal levels, the book includes learning objectives and discussion questions to facilitate lively debate and interaction in the classroom.

Leadership matters: Finding voice, connection and meaning in the 21st century / Mabey & Knights

This book brings together an eclectic mix of authors of different faith traditions, to explore what this spiritual and cultural transformation might look like. For too long we have relied on external codes of conduct, which are, at best, blunt instruments for creating ethical practice. So, chapter by chapter, this book examines our interior lives from the perspective of mind, body and soul. The unashamed premise of this book is that true and influential leadership comes from the inside with each chapter presenting what it means to lead respectfully, critically, responsibly and humbly in the gritty reality of the twenty first century workplace.

Inspiring leadership: Becoming a dynamic and inspiring leader / Fleming & Delves

Enhanced by a perspective and vision of the types of leaders and leadership skills that will be needed to meet future global demand, the book has three distinctive characteristics: · it will help leaders to translate the latest thinking and offers a simple way of applying this to their current role;· it offers leaders a means by which to develop themselves and their teams, while assessing how their organization may need to evolve in the changing business environment around them; and· it offers a diverse view of leadership perspectives, from which readers can choose in order to enhance their own leadership style and practice.

Discover your true north / George

Based on studies, the former CEO shares his personal stories and his wisdom by describing how you can become the leader you want to be, with helpful exercises included throughout the book. Being a leader is about much more than title and management skills—it's fundamentally a question of who we are as human beings. the book offers a concrete and comprehensive program for becoming an authentic leader, and shows how to chart your path to leadership success. Once you discover the purpose of your leadership, you'll find the true leader inside you. This book shows you how to use your natural leadership abilities to inspire and empower others to excellence in today's complex global world.

The 7 habits of highly effective people / Covey

In The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People, author Stephen R. Covey presents a holistic, integrated, principle-centered approach for solving personal and professional problems. With penetrating insights and pointed anecdotes, Covey reveals a step-by-step pathway for living with fairness, integrity, service, and human dignity—principles that give us the security to adapt to change and the wisdom and power to take advantage of the opportunities that change creates.

Ethics

Doing ethics in media: Theories and practical applications / Black & Roberts

This book's theoretical framework and grounded discussions engage students to think clearly and systematically about dilemmas in the rapidly changing media environment. The  text is organized around six decision-making questions— the '5Ws and H' of media ethics. The questions encourage students to articulate the issues; apply codes, policies or laws; consider the needs of stakeholders; sift and sort through conflicting values; integrate philosophic principles; and pose a 'test of publicity.' As they progress through the text, students are encouraged to resolve dozens of practical applications and increasingly complex case studies relating to journalism, new media, advertising, public relations, and entertainment.

Real-world ethics: Inside the broadcast and entertainment industries / Perebinossoff

Real-World Media Ethics provides a wide showcase of real ethical issues faced by professionals in the media field. Numerous case studies allow readers to explore multiple perspectives while using realistic ethical principles. This book includes the basics in ethical journalism, as well as the tools to navigate through the landscape of mass media such as public relations, entertainment and other forms of visual communication.

Communnication

Communication in organizations : Basic skills and conversation models./ Van der Molen & Gramsbergen-Hoogland

Providing a thorough introduction to skilled interpersonal communication, this book consists of three parts. Part I introduces basic communication skills, and makes a distinction between regulating skills, listening skills and sender skills. Part II considers a number of different dialogues: the interview used to gather information, the selection interview, the employment interview, the performance evaluation interview, the personal problems interview, handling complaints, breaking bad news, and the sales interview. Part III is dedicated to conversations in more complex group situations, discussing decision making, conflict management, negotiations and giving presentations

Business communication today / Bovee & Thill

This book demonstrates the inherent connection between recent technological developments and modern business practices. Each new edition addresses the most essential changes in technology and how they impact the business world, while still covering timeless business skills such as listening, presenting, and writing. With a strong focus on mobile integration, the 14th Edition blends current topics, such as social media in business, with more traditional entrepreneurial concepts.

Nonviolent communication: A language of life / Rosenberg

Nonviolent Communication is the integration of 4 things: Consciousness: a set of principles that support living a life of empathy, care, courage, and authenticity Language: understanding how words contribute to connection or distance Communication: knowing how to ask for what we want, how to hear others even in disagreement, and how to move toward solutions that work for all Means of influence: sharing'power with others'rather than using'power over others

Reflection

Thanks fo rthe feedback: The science and art of receiving feedback well / Stone & Heen

We know that feedback is essential for professional development and healthy relationships - but we dread it and even dismiss it. That's because while want to learn and grow, we also want to be accepted just as we are. Thanks for the Feedback is addresses this tension head on with a simple framework and powerful tools, showing us how to take on life's blizzard of comments and advice with curiosity and grace

Feedback toolkit: 16 Tools for Better Communication in the Workplace / Maurer

This book makes the feedback process easy to understand with a detailed six-step framework. It covers specific feedback tools and illustrates approaches for applying them in a variety of management scenarios---including situations where giving feedback feels more like giving ""an acid bath.""

How to inprove your critical thinking & reflective skills / McMillan & Weyers

This easy-to-use guide identifies and addresses the key areas where most students need help in developing and enhancing the critical thinking and writing skills that are crucial to successful academic study, and provides practical tips and solutions. The authors use real life examples to illustrate common mistakes and demonstrate how to avoid them. They provide solid advice on enhancing analytical and argumentation skills by adopting best practice with critical thinking and reflective writing.

Reflective writing / Williams

Reflective Writing provides concise and practical guidance on how students can improve their academic writing through self-reflective thinking, reading and writing. Covering a range of frameworks and strategies, it includes advice on applying reflective practices to personal and CV development.

Critical thinking, problem solving, curiousity

The back of a napking: Solving problems and selling ideas with pictures / Roam

Guide to enhancing analytical skills by building up one's intrinsic abilities is a primer for business leaders on how to develop ideas and enable faster results using to-the-point visual methods.

Unfolding the napkin: The hands-on-method for solving complex problems with simple pictures / Roam

Unfolding the Napkin, helps readers put Roam's principles into practice with step-by-step guidelines. This workbook teaches readers how to: •Improve their three "built-in" visual problem solving tools. •Apply the four-step visual thinking process (look-see-imagine-show) in any business situation. •Instantly improve their visual imaginations. •Learn how to recognize the type of problem to choose the best visual solution.

A more beautiful question:"the power of inquiry to spark breaktrough ideas / Berger

"The Harvard Business Review looked at 300 of the most creative, successful executives in business and found that they shared a number of tendencies and characteristics, but one stood out at the top of the list--they all were master questioners. Innovator and writer Warren Berger, who's been asking questions his entire life, brilliantly captures these innovative query-makers to try and determine what makes a question particularly beautiful.

Curious? / Kashdan

Discover the missing ingredient to a fulfilling life with Curious? In this volume, psychology professor Todd Kashdan reveals how cultivating curiosity is the road to happy, healthy, and meaningful living and the true key to falling in love with life.

Curious: The desire to know and why your future depends on it / Leslie

In Curious Ian Leslie makes a passionate case for the cultivation of our desire to know. Curious people tend to be smarter, more creative and more successful. Drawing on fascinating research from psychology, sociology and business, Curious looks at what feeds curiosity and what starves it, and uncovers surprising answers. Curiosity isn't a quality you can rely on to last a lifetime, but a mental muscle that atrophies without regular exercise.

Think smarter: Critical thinking to improve problem solving and decision making / Kallet

This book presents a pragmatic set of tools to apply critical thinking techniques to everyday business issues. Thinking is the foundation of everything you do, but we rely largely on automatic thinking to process information, often resulting in misunderstandings and errors. Shifting over to critical thinking means thinking purposefully using a framework and toolset, enabling thought processes that lead to better decisions, faster problem solving, and creative innovation. Think Smarter provides clear, actionable steps toward improving your critical thinking skills, plus exercises that clarify complex concepts by putting theory into practice.

Getting critical / Williams

Students need to think critically about what they read or hear. This accessible guide shows students what being 'critical' in their work means, and how to bring that 'critical' dimension into all the work they do. It addresses the need and the skills of being critical in relation to reading and writing and is ideal for students at any level.

Critical reading, critical thinking / Pirozzi, Martin & Dziewisz

Critical Reading, Critical Thinking uses compelling contemporary issues to engage students in reading and thinking about a range of relevant topics and encourages them to apply the skills presented in the text to everyday issues. Each passage or reading is followed by thought-provoking questions that motivate students to use higher-level thinking strategies to address or respond to the issue.

Critical thinking : 30 days to better thinking and better living through critical thinking / Elder & Paul

The authors show how to overcome poor thinking habits caused by self-delusion or out-of-control emotions... clarify what you really want... recognize what you don't know… ask better questions... resist brainwashing, manipulation, and hypocrisy... critically evaluate what you're told by advertisers, politicians, your boss, and even your family… avoid worrying, conformism, and blame. Every day, you'll focus on a specific thinking habit, mastering practical strategies for achieving results, tracking your progress, gaining confidence, and getting smarter!

Critical thinking : Tools for taking charge of your professional and personal life / Paul & Elder

This book offers guidance for making more intelligent decisions, and overcoming the irrationalities and 'sociocentric' limits we all face. Discover which of the 'six stages' of thinking you're in and learn how to think with clarity, relevance, logic, accuracy, depth, significance, precision, breadth, and fairness. Master strategic thinking skills you can use everywhere and learn how to critically assess what experts tell you.

 

How to be a brilliant thinker : Exercise your mind and find creative solutions / Sloane

This book will help you to achieve all these ideals, by helping you to think in powerful new ways. It shows you how to harness techniques in lateral thinking, analytical thinking, problem analysis, idea generation and other areas so that you become much more creative. You will be able to conceive, evaluate and implement great ideas as well as improve your memory, sell your ideas and win arguments. It is packed with practical methods that you can put to immediate use, backed up by exercises, puzzles, quizzes, graphics and illustrations.

Where's your argument? How topresent your academic argument in writing / Cooper & Shoolbred

From first steps to final submission, this accessible guide takes students through each stage of the assignment-writing process and equips them with the skills they need to construct and develop convincing academic arguments. Concise and compact, it offers practical advice on forming ideas, structuring arguments and finding your academic voice.

Thinking, fast and slow / Kahneman

Kahneman explains the two systems that drive the way we think. System 1 is fast, intuitive, and emotional; System 2 is slower, more deliberative, and more logical. Kahneman reveals where we can and cannot trust our intuitions and how we can tap into the benefits of slow thinking. He offers practical and enlightening insights into how choices are made in both our business and our personal lives—and how we can use different techniques to guard against the mental glitches that often get us into trouble.

The art of thinking clearly / Dobelli

this book reveals, in 100 short chapters, the most common errors of judgement, and how to avoid them. Simple, clear and always surprising, this indispensable book will change the way you think and transform your decision-making - at work, at home, every day.

Critical thinking skills: Effective analysis, argument and reflection / Cottrell

This guide helps students to develop reflective thinking skills, improve their critical analysis and construct arguments more effectively. Easy-to-follow, step-by-step explanations along with plenty of examples and activities develop understanding at each stage.

Empathy

empathy: Why itmatters and how to get it / Krznaric

Krznaric argues our brains are wired for social connection: empathy is at the heart of who we are. It's an essential, transforming quality we must develop for the 21st Century. Through encounters with actors, activists, groundbreaking designers, undercover journalists, nurses, bankers and neuroscientists he sets out the six life-enhancing habits of highly empathic people, whose skills enable them to connect with others in extraordinary ways.

Working with emotional intelligence / Goleman

Th author demonstrates that emotional and social skills are more important than IQ in determining an individual's success in today's business world. The single most important factor in job performance and advancement is emotional intelligence. Emotional intelligence is actually a set of skills that anyone can acquire, and in this practical guide, Daniel Goleman identifies them, explains their importance, and shows how they can be fostered.

Primal leadership: Realizing the power of emotional intelligence / Goleman

This book illustrates the power-and the necessity-of leadership that is self-aware, empathic, motivating, and collaborative in a world that is ever more economically volatile and technologically complex.

Entrepreneurship

Entrepreneur revolution / Priestley

Entrepreneur Revolution is about gaining an entrepreneurial mind-set, showing you how to change the way you think, the way you network, and the way you make a living.

Cultural entrepreneurship : The cultural worker’s experience of entrepreneurship / Naudin

Cultural Entrepreneurship focuses on how individuals articulate their experience of entrepreneurship in the cultural and creative industries. Noting the importance of place, the local cultural milieu is examined as a means of situating entrepreneurial practices through cultural and enterprise policies, local networks, and significant relationships. Within this framework, the cultural entrepreneurs'stories reveal means of subverting or re-interpreting identities and the possibility for ‘rethinking cultural entrepreneurship.'Aimed at researchers, academics and students investigating cultural entrepreneurship, cultural policy and cultural labour, Cultural Entrepreneurship will additionally be of value to creative industry consultants, cultural policymakers, and those setting up creative enterprises.

Intercultural competencies

Intercultural readiness: Four competences for working across cultures / Brinkmann, Van Weerdenburg & Childs

Intercultural Readiness presents a model for assessing the four key competencies that employees must develop in order to work effectively across different cultures; Intercultural Sensitivity, Intercultural Communication, Building Commitment and Managing Uncertainty. One of the first scientifically sound intercultural assessment tools, the Intercultural Readiness Check (IRC) helps organizations discover how well they work across cultures and in what areas their teams needed better training or support

Building cultural competence: Innovative activities and models/ Berardo & Deardorff

This book provides a cutting-edge framework and an innovative collection of ready-to-use tools and activities to help build cultural competence—from the basics of understanding core concepts of culture to the complex work of negotiating identity and resolving cultural differences. It presents the latest work in the intercultural field and provides step-by-step instructions for how to effectively work with the new models, frameworks, and exercises for building learners'cultural competence. Featuring fresh activities and tools from experienced coaches, trainers, and facilitators from around the globe, this collection of over 50 easy-to-use activities and models has been used successfully worldwide in settings that range from Fortune 500 corporations to the World Bank, non-profits, and universities.

Cultural intelligence: Surviving and thriving in the global village / Thomas & Inkson

In today's global economy, the ability to interact effectively across cultures is a fundamental job requirement for just about everyone. But it's impossible to learn the customs and traits of every single culture. David Thomas and Kerr Inkson present a universal set of techniques and people skills that will allow you to adapt quickly to, and thrive in, any cultural environment. You'll learn to discard your own culturally based assumptions and pay careful attention, in a mindful and creative way, to cues in cross-cultural situations. The authors show how to apply cultural intelligence in a series of specific situations: making decisions; communicating, negotiating, and resolving conflicts; leading and motivating others; and designing, managing, and contributing to multicultural groups and teams.

Intercultural communication for everyday life / Baldwin

Provides a thorough introduction to inter- and cross-cultural concepts for beginning students with a focus on practical application and social action Defines “communication” broadly using authors from a variety of sub disciplines and incorporating scientific, humanistic, and critical theory Constructs a complex version of culture using examples from around the world that represent a variety of differences, including age, sex, race, religion, and sexual orientation.

Diversity competence: Cultures don't meet, people do / Hoffman & Verdooren

Intercultural communication has  become an important topic in many fields of work and study. In this book, interpersonal communication forms the point of departure: the meeting of people, not of cultures. From there onwards, the authors describe what diversity competence entails: which processes, challenges and skills are relevant in a ‘superdiverse'world. The TOPOI model consequently offers an inclusive, communicative approach to analyze and address potential miscommunication. The book discusses relevant theory from several fields as well as many practical examples and guidelines. This book also has a companion website. Available on this website are: extra study assignments, extra case discussions and TOPOI cards.

Intercultural sensitivity: From denial to intercultural competence / Nunez

Culturally diverse groups do well if the differences are emphasized and recognized as valuable additions for growth and development. This book ensures that universities and students would like to learn more from other cultures. But also become aware of their own uniqueness. This new edition uses the cultural models of Hall, Kluckhohn and Hofstede together with the modern and dynamic approach of Trompenaars: the 7 cultural dimensions.