Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Expedition Leisure & Events: Books

under construction

Library catalogue

Books and e-books

In the displays below you will find the books relating to theories used within Leisure & Events that are available in the NHL Stenden Library. Some of the books are part of the Ebsco E-book collection en can be read online or you can save/download/print pages from these books. Find out by moving the cursor over the title of the book.

Finding books:

Use Stenden Library catalogue to locate these books in the library. Want to know how to find more books in hardcopy or e-books in the library? Use the Information literacy libguide to find out: Information literacy - I want to find a book and Information literacy - Topics and search terms

Canvas model

Business model generation / Osterwalder & Pigneur

 It explains the most common Business Model patterns, based on concepts from leading business thinkers, and helps you reinterpret them for your own context. You will learn how to systematically understand, design, and implement a game-changing business model--or analyze and renovate an old one. Helps youu nderstand at a much deeper level your customers, distribution channels, partners, revenue streams, costs, and your core value proposition.

Value proposition design / Osterwalder, Pigneur, Bernarda, Smith & Waster

This book will teach you the processes and tools you need to create products that sell.Using the same stunning visual format as the authors'global bestseller, Business Model Generation, this sequel explains how to use the “Value Proposition Canvas” to design, test, create, and manage products and services customers actually want..Value Proposition Design is an essential companion to the ”Business Model Canvas” from Business Model Generation

Event design handbook / Frissen, Janssen & Luijer

This book identifies the starting point of any event and outlines steps of how events come to life. It focuses on the DNA of specific aspects of events, and provides insight into how to observe and analyze events, understand stakeholders, and define behavioural changes required to deliver value. It also identifies the levers and mechanisms that influence such behavioural changes in event design.

Gamification

The gamification revolution / Zichermann & Linder

For consumer-facing businesses today, nothing matters more than delivering a great user experience and creating lasting engagement with your consumers and employees.Gamification uses the latest innovations from game design, loyalty programs, and behavioral economics.

Gamification / Stieglitz, Lattemann, Robra Brissantz, Zarnekow & Brockmann

This book introduces game theory and gamification to a number of different domains and describes their professional application in information systems. The book presents the fundamentals, concepts and theories of gamification, ffollowed by a focus on the use of gamification in customer management, innovation management, teaching and learning, mobile applications and as an element of virtual worlds. Cases and concrete scenarios.

Creativity

Creativity today / Byttebier & Vullings

If you want to learn how to generate and enrich ideas more easily. If you want to become an inspiring coach for creative sessions. If you want to grasp the do’s and don’ts of applying creativity in organizations. Creativity Today is an applied management book, it is clear, fun and practical. It will be your personal coach, providing you with exercises, inspiration and knowledge that you can apply immediately. Includes Creation today where the authors outline various cases on applied creativity. You will learn to discover implicit processes in your organization and how to use inspiration, co-creation and experimentation as energizers.

Defining creativity: The art and science of great ideas / Boon

The reason why creativity is perceived as a concept that is hard to grasp is that we still haven't really figured out what happens in our brain when we invoke it. In fact, we can hardly invoke it on demand. But although it shows up quite randomly, creativity is essential; our entire world is built on it. Defining Creativity comprehensively explains what creativity is, from a biological, psychological and sociocultural standpoint. At the same time, it makes for a concise and inspiring read that brings together everything there is to know about creativity.

The secret of the highly creative thinker: How to make connections others don't / Nielsen

People who are good at having ideas are good at seeing connections. Could teaching people to see connections be a way to help them be more creative? Over the years, there's a need for a book on creativity that complements the teaching of the creative process and tools and gives you a practical approach to how to enhance your innate ability to think creatively.

Creative thinker's exercise book: Exercise book / Nielsen

Practical hands-on workbook, the perfect outlet to get your hands dirty and dive into exercises that strengthen one's ability to see and make connections. This book is for those seeking to enhance their creativity. It can be used to: - Develop one's creative capacity - Train underlying mechanisms in creative thinking - Enrich educational  purpose  - Increase idea production. This exercise book is a spin-off to The Secret of the Highly Creative Thinker.

Creative Confidence : Unleashing the Creative Potential Within Us All / Kelley & Kelley

Too often, companies and individuals assume that creativity and innovation are the domain of the "creative types."  David and Tom Kelley identify the principles and strategies that will allow us to tap into our creative potential in our work lives, and in our personal lives, and allow us to innovate in terms of how we approach and solve problems. It is a book that will help each of us be more productive and successful in our lives and in our careers.

Think! Before it's too late / De Bono

De Bono examines why we think the way we do from a historical perspective and uses some of his famous thinking techniques, such as lateral thinking, combined with new ideas to show us how to change the way we think. If we strengthen our ability and raise our thinking level, other areas of our life - both personal and business success - will improve.

Omdenken: the Dutch art of flip-thinking / Gunster

This practical booklet shows what flip-thinking means and how to do it. To flip through, to come up with ideas, to be put on the wrong track and especially to trigger your own creative ability. In short, look, think and – particularly – create.

Creativity in Business: The basic guide for generating and selecting ideas / Byttebier

The book outlines the 4 step creative process:

- Ask the right questions, - Generate a lot of ideas, - Select the right ones, - Start implementing

The Imagination Gap : Stop Thinking the Way You Should and Start Making Extraordinary Things Happen

The author outlines how the strongest leaders show others how to use their imaginations to expand their individual and collective potential. In a rapidly changing world with so many choices and challenges to face, we must draw on our imagination more than ever before. Imagination makes the difference between projects that succeed and those that don't, and is the key ingredient that transforms an idea from interesting into world-changing. With in-depth interviews and examples from a range of industries and settings including. Includes specific, actionable guidance and steps to follow to stop thinking the way you “should” and start making extraordinary things happen.

Flow

Wow effect and sensory

Experience theory

The experience economy / Pine & Gilmore

In 1999, Joseph Pine and James Gilmore offered this idea to readers as a new way to think about connecting with customers and securing their loyalty. With this fully updated edition of the book, Pine and Gilmore make an even stronger case that experience is the missing link between a company and its potential audience. It offers new rich examples.

Summary: The Experience Economy

This complete summary of B. Joseph Pine II and James Gilmore's book 'The Experience Economy' shows that every company is based on what they choose to charge money for. In their book, the authors explain the benefits of the Experience Economy and how to transition your business into it. By following their advice, your company will combine entertainment with knowledge or skill, offering your customers excellent added-value and making you successful.

Authenticity / Gilmore & Pine

In Authenticity, James H. Gilmore and B. Joseph Pine II argue that to trounce rivals companies must grasp, manage, and excel at rendering authenticity. Through examples from a wide array of industries as well as government, nonprofit, education, and religious sectors, the authors show how to manage customers' perception of authenticity by: recognizing how businesses ''fake it;'' appealing to the five different genres of authenticity; charting how to be ''true to self'' and what you say you are; and crafting and implementing business strategies for rendering authenticity.

Imagineering / Kuiper & Smit

This book explains the background of the need for experiences and then focusses on how to design them. Bringing theory into practice for students of tourism marketing, event planning and business, it provides a window into the creative world of Imagineering.

Economy of experiences / Boswijk, Peelen & Olthof

 This book describes, step-by-step, the foundations of new forms of value creation and how businesses can avoid the downward escalation of price competition (commoditisation). It starts by placing individuals at the centre of their social context as well as events that are important to them in the world in which they live. In order to facilitate these, we present new business models in which co-creation plays an important role. Concrete design principles are given that can be used as a basis for creating meaningful experiences. Both theory and practice are discussed; numerous cases studies are dissected.

Storytelling

Digital storytelling / Miller

Digital Storytelling shows you how to create immersive, interactive narratives across a bevy of platforms, devices, and media. From age-old, storytelling techniques to cutting-edge development processes, this book covers creating stories for all forms of entertainment like social media, transmedia, games, apps, and second screen experiences.This book features case studies that cover a multitude of platforms and different story

The non-profit narrative / Portnoy

The Non-Profit Narrative is designed to help non-profits apply storytelling principles to their day-to-day operations and communications for maximum impact. Applying the idea that all organizations have great stories to tell, Dan Portnoy encourages non-profits to interpret fundraising and engagement through the perspective of storytelling.

Stories that move mountains / Sykes, Malik & West

 The book helps you build complete visual stories, step by step, by using the CAST method to first create a Story Map and fromthere, a compelling presentation. It includes sample Story Maps, templates, practical success stories, and more.

The new digital storytelling / Bryan

Documents how digital storytelling has become an international movement, with vibrant communities of practice, ever-developing ideas, and growing appeal• Captures the full depth and breadth of the history and present of digital storytelling, while also offering practical tips for getting started making stories

Project management

Project management / Verhaar & Eshel

Project management is characterised by systematic and integral control of the development process, from creative idea to concrete product. This book concentrates on the management of event projects. Events such as festivals, exhibitions, conferences, arts productions, sports events and company events draw a lot of attention. An initiative frequently ends in failure, because the funding cannot be finalised, deadlines are not met or budgets are exceeded. The professional approach of a project can prevent many problems. The Project Management method is very user-friendly and stands out by its direct applicability (numerous check lists, step-by-step plans and model contracts).

Event Project management / Pielichaty, Els, Reed & Mawer

Events Project Management offers a unique blend of theory and practice to encourage and contextualise project management requirements within events settings. Key questions include: What is project management? How does it connect to events management? What is effective project management within the events sector? How does academic theory connect to practice? The book is coherently structured into 12 chapters covering crucial event management topics such as stakeholders, supply chain management, project management tools and techniques, and financial and legal issues. Guides, templates, case study examples, industry tips and activity tasks are integrated in the text and online to show practice and aid knowledge.

Project Management : A Practical Approach / Grit

The primary aim of this book is to facilitate the successful completion of projects. As such, it puts particular emphasis on the importance of careful preparation and strategic co-operation within the project team. It consists of two parts: part one provides a description of a project-based approach to the work environment, an analysis of when such an approach is appropriate and an account of how to make projects work. Part two describes the practical tools and skills needed to tackle projects.

Play

Serious Leisure and Individuality / Cohen-Gewerc & Stebbins

There are many studies on the modern individual that centre almost entirely on the person facing his local community and broader society. What is missing in the literature - and what Serious Leisure and Individuality provides - is a broad, comprehensive examination of individuality, particularly as it is rooted in leisure and the leisure-like areas of work. Ch: 1 Freedom and Being Free, 2 Leisure Space: Cradle of the Individuated Person, 3 Inclination to Play, 4 Leisure and Consumption, 5 Art in the Leisure Era, 6 Community, Citizenship, and Globalization.

The interrelationship of leisure and play / Stebbins

Augmentative play is a special activity that substantially aids the pursuit of a larger, encompassing leisure activity. This approach to the study of play is unique. It recognizes the hundreds of activities in which play and leisure come together.