Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music Management: Finding books, journal articles and other sources of information

Minor Music Management

Finding information in the library

Internet

The Internet offers much information. Do think about the credibility and trustworthiness of information. By using Google Books or Google Scholar, you are focusing your search to more reliable publications.

Click the picture and start the video to get more info.

Evaluating Internet sources

Using the internet you can find a lot of information. Not all information is reliable. After all, anyone can post information on the Internet. In order to determine whether information is trustworthy, you can look out for a number of things:

Who is the author?

Who is responsible for the informatin, who has been writing? Is this person an expert? Look into the background of the author (or organization). Has he / she  been publishing book or journal articles more often.

For what purpose is the information published?

What is the purpose of the text? Is to inform and give the information objectively? Or is it to for opinions and does it include opinions or prejudices: is it intended for commerce and does it involve selling a service or product? What is the purpose of the website of the person or organization behind it. Is contact information provided or is the only option to leave your contact details to get in contact?

Are there any references to sources? 

It is clear  ont which the information was based? How reliable are these sources? How recent is the information?
On the Internet there are many checklists in circulation that allow you to check the reliability of information on websites.

Examples: the CRAAP testhttps://www.csuchico.edu/lins/handouts/eval_websites.pdf

and video:  https://youtu.be/_M1-aMCJHFg

Or the T is for Thinking: the ICYouSee Guide to Critical Thinking guide  http://www.icyousee.org/think/think.html

and checklist:  http://www.icyousee.org/think/thinkingchecklist

Finding books

Books and e-books

In the displays below you will find the books on tourism available in the NHL Stenden Library. Some of the books are part of the Ebsco E-book collection (or one of the other ebook databases) and can be read online or you can save/download/print pages from these books. Find out by moving the cursor over the title of the book.

Finding books:

Use Catalogue NHL Stenden library  to locate these books in the library or or use the eBooks databases to find e-books on your topic. Want to know how to find more books in hardcopy or e-books in the library? Use the Information literacy libguide to find out: Information literacy - I want to find a book and Information literacy - Topics and search terms

Google Books

Met Google Books kun je in boeken zoeken.  Zo kun je zoeken op "tourism impact" (er zijn weinig boeken in het Nederlands hierover in Google Books) om  boeken te vinden waarin de impact op het toerisme besproken wordt. Soms krijg je boeken die in het geheel over het onderwerp gaan, soms krijg je een pagina waarin het onderwerp genoemd wordt.

 Een kijkje in de inhoudsopgave van een boek laat zien wat er nog meer besproken wordt wat ook interessant voor jou kan zijn:

 

 

Niet alle pagina’s worden weergegeven in verband met het auteursrecht. In dat geval kun je met het linkje “zoeken in een bibliotheek” (links in het scherm) gebruiken om te zien of het boek beschikbaar is in NHL Stenden bibliotheek .. Vul je locatie in en Google books laat daaronder zien welke bibliotheken bij jou in de buurt het boek hebben. Je kunt vervolgens doorlinken naar de bibliotheek om te zien waar het in de bibliotheek staat en of het al dan niet uitgeleend is.

Tourism organizations

Many organizations share reports with  information on developments in Dutch society, economy and various sectors, including the tourism sector. In addition to government organizations such as the Ministry of Economic Affairs and Climate Policy, the Statistics Netherlands (CBS) and the NBTC Holland Marketing the National bureau for Tourism, there are branch organizations such as Recron, Gastvrij Nederland and NRIT Media that offer reports.

By using the tabs and links on these websites to "Topics" or "Themes", Publications "or" Documents" you often discover reports and more information.

In the boxes below you can see examples of these organizations. The images link through to the websites of the organizations.

Finding journal articles

Journals

In the displays below you will find journals on tourism available in the NHL Stenden Library databases with articles which  can be read online.

Finding journal articles

Use the Information literacy libguide to find out: Information literacy - I want to find journal articles and Information literacy - Topics and search terms . Databases with journal articles for Leisure & Tourism can be found on the library website using the link Databases per course

Google scholar

Use Google scholar to search for academic information. The results are presented in a different way then in Google. When NHL Stenden Library has access to the article or publication in one of its databases, a link is provided on the right hand side next to the result: FullText @ NHL Stenden Library

Change the Settings of Google Scholar if you want to  be able to see if found articles are full text available at Stenden.

Go to Settings. Choose Library links from the left menu. Search for NHL Stenden hogeschool, check the box and save the setting.

 

Underneath the results in Google Scholar you will find the following links:  

Cited by - refers to articles that have used the article above

Related articles - shows articles that are about similar topics related to the article above

Cite or " - provides the reference to the article in different citation styles like APA

PDF's

Many publications on the Internet are published in PDF or as a Word document.

Add "filetype:pdf" to your words in the Google search box to find these PDF more quickly