Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Publication Date: 2014
This book is an examination of the psychology of compliance (i.e. uncovering which factors cause a person to say “yes” to another's request). Cialdini organizes compliance techniques into six categories based on psychological principles that direct human behavior: reciprocation, consistency, social proof, liking, authority, and scarcity.
Social Research Methods by
Publication Date: 2016-02-03
This introduction to research methods provides students and researchers with coverage of both quantitative and qualitative methods. This book introduces the fundamental principles and underlying theories of the subject, while also offering a practical toolkit for carrying out social research.
Content Strategy at Work by
Publication Date: 2012-02-22
Content Strategy at Work is a book for designers, information architects, copywriters, project managers, and anyone who works with visual or verbal content. It discusses how you can communicate and forge a plan that will enable you, your company, or your client get that message across and foster better user experiences.
Strategic brand management by
Publication Date: 2019
This book looks at branding from the perspective of the consumer, and provides a framework that identifies, defines, and measures brand equity. Using insight from both academics and industry practitioners, the text draws on illustrative examples and case studies of brands marketed in the US and all over the world. This edition features a greater focus on digital branding.
Buyer Personas by
Publication Date: 2015-03-09
This book provides comprehensive coverage of a compelling new way to conduct buyer studies, plus practical advice on adopting the buyer persona approach to measurably improve marketing outcomes. Learn how to segment your customer base, investigate each customer type, and apply a radically more relevant process of message selection, content creation, and distribution through the channels that earn the buyers' trust. This book provides step-by-step guidance.
Discovering Statistics Using IBM SPSS Statistics by
Publication Date: 2018-01-08
From initial theory through to regression, factor analysis and multilevel modelling, Andy Field animates statistics and SPSS software with a unique combination of humour and step-by-step instruction.
Research Methodology by
Publication Date: 2019-02-11
Written in a logical and accessible style and providing helpful techniques and examples, it breaks the process of designing and doing a research project into eight manageable operational steps. The book guides you through your project from beginning to end by offering practical advice on: formulating a research question, ethical considerations, carrying out a literature review, choosing a research design selecting a sample, collecting and analysing qualitative and quantitative data, writing a research report. The Fifth Edition of the bestseller Research Methodology has reimagined, redesigned, and fully renovated how a textbook can help students achieve success in their methods course or research project.
Qualitative Research and Evaluation Methods by
Publication Date: 2014-11-11
A comprehensive and systematic book on qualitative research and evaluation methods, inquiry frameworks, and analysis options. Illuminates all aspects of qualitative inquiry through new examples, stories, and cartoons; more than a hundred new summarizing and synthesizing exhibits; and a wide range of new highlight sections/sidebarsthat elaborate on important and emergent issues.
Participatory Culture in a Networked Era by
Publication Date: 2015-11-16
Participatory Culture in a Networked Era will interest students and scholars of digital media and their impact on society and will engage readers in a broader dialogue and conversation about their own participatory practices in this digital age.
Concept Code by
Publication Date: 2016-11-22
Conceptual thinking involves adding vision to a product, service, or organisation. Content is key, as this determines the coherence of the concept. Consumers want to experience every aspect of the concept.
This is a practical guide to effectively improve ideas, policies, products, and services. Ideal for all professionals in any field of industry and governmental organisation.
Publication Date: 2012-01-27
This text aims to help students become consumers of persuasion. It presents persuasion through the examination of various aspects of popular culture - politics, mass media, advertising, and the information superhighway - as they exemplify and teach critical theories of persuasion.
Design Thinking by
Publication Date: 2013-02-01
Design Thinking is an approach to designing products, services, architecture, spaces and experiences that is being quickly adopted by designers, architects and some of the world’s leading brands such as GE, Target, SAP, Procter and Gamble, IDEO and Intuit. It is being taught at leading universities including Stanford and Harvard. Design Thinking creates practical and innovative solutions to problems. It drives repeatable innovation and business value. Design Thinking can be used to develop a wide range of products, services, experiences and strategy. It is an approach that can be applied by anyone.
The Media Student's Book by
Publication Date: 2010-04-29
The Media Student's Book is a comprehensive introduction for students of media studies. It covers all the key topics and provides a detailed, lively and accessible guide to concepts and debates. Now in its fifth edition, this bestselling textbook has been thoroughly revised, re-ordered and updated, with many very recent examples and expanded coverage of the most important issues currently facing media studies. It is structured in three main parts, addressing key concepts, debates, and research skills, methods and resources
Cross-Media Communications: an Introduction to the Art of Creating Integrated Media Experiences by
Publication Date: 2010-03-30
This book is an introduction to the future of mass media and mass communications - cross-media communications. Cross-media is explained through the presentation and analysis of contemporary examples and project-based tutorials in cross-media development. The text introduces fundamental terms and concepts, and provides a solid overview of cross-media communications, one that builds from a general introduction to a specific examination of media and genres to a discussion of the concepts involved in designing and developing cross-media communications
Storytelling Across Worlds by
Publication Date: 2013-02-25
From film to television to games and beyond, Storytelling Across Worlds gives you the tools to weave a narrative universe across multiple platforms and meet the insatiable demand of today’s audience for its favorite creative property.
Media Effects Research by
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
The author presents media theories in the context of current research findings-giving you a comprehensive introduction to mass media's effects on society. The book clearly explains how the effects of mass media are measured and what the latest research has concluded about media's influence on our lives.
Spreadable Media by
Publication Date: 2013-01-21
Spreadable Media examines the nature of audience engagement,the environment of participation, the way appraisal creates value, and the transnational flows at the heart of these phenomena. It delineates the elements that make content more spreadable and highlights emerging media business models built for a world of participatory circulation. The book also explores the internal tensions companies face as they adapt to the new communication reality and argues for the need to shift from “hearing” to “listening” in corporate culture.
Writing for Visual Media by
Publication Date: 2014-04-28
Writing for Visual Media strengthens the method for creating content and writing in the correct language and established format for each visual medium, including commercial communication such as ads and PSAs, corporate communications, and training. An extended investigation into dramatic theory and how entertainment narrative works is illustrated by examples and detailed analysis of scenes, scripts and storylines