Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Information literacy: I want to find a book

Obtained from a University Library Groningen publication on http://libguides.rug.nl

Books

During your study you will have to get your information largely from books. In the chapter 'Types of literature' you have become familiar with various types of books. The NHL Stenden Library owns a lot items, mostly books and e-books.

Most of these books are for loan, but because there are so many it is impossible to browse the shelves until you find the one you need. That is why you have to use the library catalogue to find the books that are relevant to your research question.

A library catalogue contains the description, availability and location of books, journals and other items from a certain collection. In a traditional library catalogue you will by no means find all the literature that has been published on a subject, but only literature that is part of the library's own collection.

For new books see acquisitions and Highlights by location at the Home page.

E-books

Students and staff of NHL Stenden have partly access to E-books through the NHL Stenden Library. These can be found in Discovery Service. In many cases it is possible to then download and (temporarily) read offline (parts of) the book on your computer, tablet or e-reader. This depends on the kind of licence the NHL Stenden Library has agreed on with the provider or publisher. 

 

What is Discovery Service?

Discovery Service is the Library search engine for students and staff of NHL Stenden. In Discovery Service you will find the entire printed and electronic collection of the NHL Stenden Libraries. Discovery Service is used for finding information sources such as journal articles, books, conference proceedings etc. Discovery Service gives information about where material is located at the NHL Stenden Library.

Searching with Discovery Service - some suggestions

If your search term consists of a combined term or phrase, use advanced search.

Looking for titles by a particular author? You can select the 'author' search option.

 

More information

Editions and formats: Always check the tab 'Editions and formats'' in the title description of an item in your list of search results, by clicking on the Other editions & formats link. In this tab Discovery Service presents all available editions, including the most recent ones and e-book versions of the title.

To find information about your loans and reservations sign in at the catalogue and choose "borrower information" at the top of the page.

 

 

What if the University Library does not have the book I need?

If the NHL Stenden Library does not have the material your need (books or articles) you can request them from another library in the Netherlands through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

 

 

Full-text books on the Internet

Worldwide there are various initiatives to offer digitized books full-text on the internet. Usually this applies only to older books where copyright no longer applies. However, there are also collaborative initiatives by publishers and libraries to offer more recent, and sometimes even new books, full-text online.

The best known and largest provider is Google through its Google Books search engine.

In Delpher, a database hosted by the National Library in The Hague, you will find millions of digitized searchable texts from Dutch newspapers, books and journals. These texts are taken from the collections of various scientific institutions, libraries and heritage institutions.