Skip to main content

Event Management: Books

Finding books

Books and e-books

In the displays below you will find examples of books and e-books Essential event management books for the Minor Event management  and More books relating to Event managament available in available in NHL Stenden library. 

Some of the books are part of the Ebsco E-book collection en can be read online or you can save/download/print pages from these books. Find out by moving the cursor over the title of the book.
 

Finding books

Use Catalogue NHLStenden library to locate these books in the library or use the eBooks databases to find e-books on your topic. Want to know how to find more books in hardcopy or e-books in the library? Use the Information literacy libguide to find out: Information literacy - I want to find a book and Information literacy - Topics and search terms

Essentials

Events Management / Bowdin

Events Management provides a complete A-Z of the principles and practices of planning, managing and staging events.

Event safety guide / Cooper

This book address a broad range of subjects relevant to most events, including emergency planning, weather preparedness, and fire safety, as well as specific technical issues such as pyrotechnics, rigging, and temporary staging

Event as a strategic marketing tool / Gerritsen & Van Olderen

Events as a Strategic Marketing Tool reviews the way organizations utilize events to connect with their visitors. It covers the development of the experience economy, the step from strategy to concept, event design and touchpoints.

Experience economy (updated ed.) / Pine & Gilmore

In this updated edition Pine and Gilmore make an even stronger case that experience is the missing link between a company and its potential audience.

Professional event coordination / Rutherford

Guide to the state-of-the-art guidelines, strategies, and new technologies in modern event planning (updated ed.).

Risk management for meetings and events / Rutherford

Risk Management for Meetings and Events examines the practices, procedures, and safeguards associated with the identification, analysis, response planning, and control of the risks surrounding events of all types.

Project management: A professional approach to events / Verhaar

Project management is characterised by systematic and integral control of the development process, from creative idea to concrete product. This book concentrates on the management of event projects.

Events en beleven: Het 5-wheel drive concept / Rippen & Bos

Events & Beleven biedt een praktische leidraad voor het ontwerpen, het begeleiden en bijsturen, en voor het evalueren en beoordelen van events. (English summary on BlackBoard).

The purple guide to health, safety and welfare at music and other events

The Purple Guide to Health, Safety and Welfare at Music and Other Events aims to help those who organise music or similar events, so that the events can run safely. This guide has been designed to sign-post event organisers and suppliers to the practices and issues that need to be considered when events are being planned. The contents are not designed to be prescriptive but simply seek to highlight legal criteria and non-legislative good practise. In some areas, the Guide signposts users to other sources of information that may be helpful.

More books

Events management: An international approach / Ferdinand & Kitchin

Events Management combines theory and practice to address the challenges and opportunities of working in a global world to help prepare students for the realities of the events management sector.

Strategies for sustainable events / De Brito & Cavagnaro

The project aims of the research in this report were threefold: 1) assessing strategies to tackle specific waste issues, such as cigarette butts and plastic cups, 2) understanding the effect of waste on the experience of festival visitors, and 3) providing tools for festivals.

Events in the city: Using public spaces as event venues / Smith

This book offers significant insight into some of the key reasons why cities are staging more events in public spaces (the need to generate funds and market cities), what problems this causes (exclusion, commercialisation, disruption) and how effective management and regulation can help to secure more optimal outcomes for citizens.

Event studies: Theory, Research and Policy for Planned Events

Event studies focuses on event planning and management, outcomes, the experience of events and the meanings attached to them, the dynamic processes shaping events and why people attend them.

The future of events & festivals / Yeoman, Robertson, McMahon-Beattie, Backer & Smith (Eds.)

This book takes a futures approach to understanding event management. Chapters include analysis of sustainability, security, impacts of social media, design at both mega event and community level and review a good range of different types of events from varying geographical regions.

Critical event studies / Lamond & Platt (Eds.)

This book -with contributions from a range of international scholars- considers the wide variety of research approaches being used by academics from around the world, whose interests lie within the reach of this emerging field.

Event design handbook: Systematically design innovative events using the event canvas / Frissen

This book identifies the starting point of any event and outlines steps of how events come to life. It focuses on the DNA of specific aspects of events, and provides insight into how to observe and analyze events, understand stakeholders, and define behavioural changes required to deliver value. It also identifies the levers and mechanisms that influence such behavioural changes in event design.

Visitor attractions and events: Locations and linkages / Weidenfeld, Butler & Williams

Visitor Attractions and Events explores the relations between events and attractions to offer new thinking of the role of space and place in shaping development, management practices and strategies in the sector as well as future implications.

Technology and events : how to create engaging events / Martin & Cazarre

Explores the use of technology to improve results on all kinds of events from initial planning stages right through to post event debriefing. This book provides all the solutions and tips on how to maximize the participation of your audience, cut costs and have better revenues from your events.

Event Management in Sport, Recreation and Tourism: Theoretical and Practical Dimensions / Mallen & Adams

Event Management in Sport, Recreation and Tourism provides a comprehensive theoretical and practical framework for planning and managing events. Focusing on the role of the event manager and their diverse responsibilities through each phase of the event planning process.

Event Stakeholders Theory and methods for event management and tourism / Getz

The book goes further than the economic impacts of events, and looks with a new perspective at issues such as- * The relationships between stakeholders and the consequences that such relationships create * An approach strongly rooted in management and the commonly-recognized management functions of planning, organizing, staffing, directing and controlling * Introducing throughout the relevant theory and showing how theory is being used in the events sector.

Crowd Management : Risk, Security and Health

This book presents a system for crowd management which integrates security with the other concerns for the health and safety for crowds, looking at the theories and practices of the management processes, plans, monitoring and evaluation of crowds. The management of crowds in events and festivals is extremely complex as such situations are unpredictable. Every event management team now needs to understand the complexity, the decisions under uncertainty and the long tail risks in order to successfully plan and maintain optimum crowd safety. Structured into four sections (Risk, Management, Security and Health) with templates, explanation points and case studies throughout.