Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Tourism Product: Tourism Innovation

Introduction

Here you will finder a variety of sources for the tourism Innovation Product.

The aim for this assignment is to Develop a new of adjusted tourism product or service for an existing tourism organisation.

You deliver a Logbook of the project process and a presentation including the Customer Journey Experience and the product/service innovation

 

                                                               

Books

Reports

Marencic, H., & Frederiksen, J. (2014). Sustainable tourism in the wadden sea: world heritage destination.  Wilhelmshaven: Common Wadden Sea Secretariat

Langford, G., & Weissenberg, A. (2018). 2018 Travel and hospitality industry outlook. Oakland : Deloitte Development LLC.

Interesting is Figure 2: Deloitte customer experience framework (p.13)

 

Van der Haven, Y. (2018). Understanding the Service Experience of the Dutch Day Spa Customer through the Customer Journey. Thesis for Master in International Leisure and Tourism Studies, NHL Stenden University of Applied Sciences, The Netherlands, and University of Derby, United Kingdom. 

Several facts and developments in the economy and the spa industry lead to shifting customer demands. In combination with an insufficient understanding of the process of experiences and their effects on customers result in the need for a deeper insight into the individual customer experience in the spa industry. The key to success for spas is fine tuning the individual customer experience.
The aim of this research is to contribute to the knowledge and understanding of the service experience in the Dutch spa industry through the customer journey

 

Skift (2014). The Rise of Experiential Travel. New York: Skift

 

Customer journey toolkit

The toolkit that gives tourism companies insights into the measurability of the touch point of tourist during their customer journey. Click the image or go to https://ddlpublicaties.nbtc.nl/customer-journey-ddl/customer-journey

UN Sustainable Development Goals - Video

United Nations, (2018, April 20). Do you know all 17 SDGs? [Video]. United Nations. http://youtu.be/0XTBYMfZyrM 

The Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), are a universal call to action to end poverty, protect the planet and ensure that all people enjoy peace and prosperity.

UN Sustainable Development Goals - website

Databases

Look for more books and ebooks on this topic in the following databases:

 

 

Ebsco eBooks offers access to online versions of many books of (scientific) publishers. The database includes e-books in almost all academic disciplines Van Dale Dictionaries Online access too. In the Ebsco eBooks database you can use the AND, OR and NOT operators to make combinations of different keywords.

 

Safari: O'Reilly's learning platform for Higher Educaton is a repository of books and videos content from more than 250 publishers supported with innovative technologies and tools. undefined

Articles

Pine, B.J., & Gilmore, J. (2016).  "Integrating experiences into your business model: five approaches".  Strategy & Leadership44(1), 3-10

Yachina, J.M. (2018). The ‘customer journey’: Learning from customers in tourism experience encounters. Tourism Management Perspectives, 28, 201–210. 

Kaur, G., & Kaur, C. (2020). COVID-19 and the Rise of the New Experience EconomyFIIB Business Review9(4), 239–248. https://doi.org/10.1177/2319714520958575

Stickdorn, M., & Zehrer, A. (2009). Service design in tourism: Customer experience driven destination management. In First Nordic Conference on Service Design and Service Innovation, Oslo, 24th-26th November 2009 . Retrieved on April 13, 2021, from https://edu.nl/ftqdg

Chang, Y.,  Lim, Y-k., & Stolterman, E. (2008). Personas: From theory to practices. In NordiCHI '08: Proceedings of the 5th Nordic conference on Human-computer interaction: building bridges (pp. 439-442). https://doi.org/10.1145/1463160.1463214

Databases with articles

Look for more articles on this topic in the following databases:

In the Hospitality and Tourism Complete database you can use the AND, OR and NOT operators to make combinations of different keywords. The Thesaurus (top menu) provides a list with keywords and the relationships between the keywords On the left of the screen you can limit the results to year, publication type, full text etc.

The Business Source Ultimate database has the same search features as the Hospitality and Tourism Complete. The content of the Business Source covers coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. It contains full text information such as market research reports, country reports, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and top management and marketing journals.

SAGE Premier is a database with online access to over 500 SAGE journals covering a wide range of subjects areas, including business humanities, social science, technology and medicine. NHL Stenden Library has access to the content of the last 10 years.The Advanced search allows you to combine words in different fields (like title, author, keywords or abstract) and select "Only content to which I have full access". Filter the results on article type  and date

The full text database Science Direct published by Elsevier contains articles covering a wide range of subject areas, including Physical Sciences and Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Arts and Humanities, Business, Management and Accounting, Economics and Finance, Psychology and Social Sciences. NHL Stenden has access to the content of the last 5 years.