Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Minor Tourism, Event & Experience Marketing: Books

Finding books

Books and e-books

In the displays below you will find examples of books and e-books Compulsary and Recommended books relating to Tourism, Event & Experience Marketing available in NHL Stenden library. 

Some of the books are part of the Ebsco E-book collection en can be read online or you can save/download/print pages from these books. Find out by moving the cursor over the title of the book.
 

Finding books
Use Catalogue NHLStenden library to locate these books in the library or use the eBooks databases to find e-books on your topic. Want to know how to find more books in hardcopy or e-books in the library? Use the Information literacy libguide to find out: Information literacy - I want to find a book and Information literacy - Topics and search terms

Compulsary Literature

Trendrapport toerisme, recreatie en vrije tijd 2020 [eBook]

Het Trendrapport toerisme, recreatie en vrije tijd 2020 biedt een actueel statistisch overzicht van vraag en aanbod in de toerismesector en geeft inzicht in voor de vrijetijdssector relevante trends en innovaties. Daarbij is ook volop aandacht voor de gevolgen van de COVID-19-pandemie op de vrijetijdssector.

Marketing and Managing Tourism Destinations [eBook]

Marketing and Managing Tourism Destinations is a comprehensive and integrated introductory textbook covering both destination marketing
and destination management in one volume. It focuses on how destination management is planned, implemented and evaluated as well as the management and operations of destination management organizations (DMOs), how they conduct business, major opportunities, challenges and issues they face to compete for the global leisure and business travel markets. 

Tourism: Principles and Practice [eBook]

Thanks to its engaging writing style and accessible structure, Fletcher has become the ultimate one-stop text for any student studying Tourism. Its broad appeal and popularity increases with each new edition, making it excellent value for any student who wants to understand and explore the principles of the subject. Well-liked by students and lecturers alike, TourismPrinciples and Practice is the ultimate reference text for anyone wishing to understand the complex and varied issues involved with such a diverse and constantly changing subject.

Experience economy (updated ed.) / Pine & Gilmore

In this updated edition Pine and Gilmore make an even stronger case that experience is the missing link between a company and its potential audience.

Projectmanagement : een professionele aanpak van evenementen / Iris Eshel en Jan Verhaar

Projectmanagement biedt handvatten om vanuit een creatief idee via een gedegen projectplan een succesvol en professioneel project te realiseren. Het boek belicht aansprekende cases en biedt handige instrumenten zoals werkmodellen, contracten en formats voor projectrapporten.

Project management: A professional approach to events / Verhaar

Project management is characterised by systematic and integral control of the development process, from creative idea to concrete product. This book concentrates on the management of event projects.

Travel Tomorrow [eBook]

- Why change is essential for survival.
- What we know about the future of travel.
- How customers travel in the future.
- Where to play and how to win.
- How to become future-proof
- Five things to keep in mind no matter what.
- Practical tips and empowering tools that enable future success.

Recommended books

Imagineering : innovation in the experience economy / Gabrielle Kuiper, Bert Smit

To survive in today's complex economies, it is imperative for companies to understand their consumers in terms of how and why they like to use their products. Distinction based on quality no longer provides competitive advantage. Imagineers use design methods to create meaningful experiences that connect consumers to brands, employees to companies and consumers to consumers. This book explains the background of the need for experiences and then focusses on how to design them. Bringing theory into practice for students of tourism marketing, event planning and business, it provides a window into the creative world of Imagineering.

Economy of experiences / Albert Boswijk, Ed Peelen & Steven Olthof

This book describes, step-by-step, the foundations of new forms of value creation and how businesses can avoid the downward escalation of price competition (commoditisation). It starts by placing individuals at the centre of their social context as well as events that are important to them in the world in which they live. In order to facilitate these, we present new business models in which co-creation plays an important role. Concrete design principles are given that can be used as a basis for creating meaningful experiences. Both theory and practice are discussed; numerous cases studies are dissected. The last three chapters focus on practical applications in health care, financial service innovation and developing creative cities. The book is backed by its own website: www.experience-economy.com.

Marketing for Hospitality and Tourism, Global Edition [eBook]

This book presents a system for crowd management which integrates security with the other concerns for the health and safety for crowds, looking at the theories and practices of the management processes, plans, monitoring and evaluation of crowds. The management of crowds in events and festivals is extremely complex as such situations are unpredictable. Every event management team now needs to understand the complexity, the decisions under uncertainty and the long tail risks in order to successfully plan and maintain optimum crowd safety. Structured into four sections (Risk, Management, Security and Health) with templates, explanation points and case studies throughout.

Digital Marketing Strategy : An Integrated Approach to Online Marketing [eBook]

The modern marketer needs to learn how to employ strategic thinking alongside the use of digital media to deliver measurable and accountable business success. Digital Marketing Strategy covers the essential elements of achieving exactly this by guiding you through every step of creating your perfect digital marketing strategy. This book analyzes the essential techniques and platforms of digital marketing including social media, content marketing, SEO, user experience, personalization, display advertising and CRM, as well as the broader aspects of implementation including planning, integration with overall company aims and presenting to decision makers.Simon Kingsnorth brings digital marketing strategy to life through best practice case studies, illustrations, checklists and summaries, to give you insightful and practical guidance. 

Sustainable Hospitality and Tourism Management [eBook]

Sustainable Hospitality and Tourism Management examines various aspects of environmental issues that are encountered bythe two most emerging industry in the world, i.e. Hospitalityand tourism industry. It includes basic concepts of sustainablehospitality and tourism management along with the meaningof sustainable travel and importance of food security. Providesthe reader with the insights into the consumer behavior and theresponsibility of the staff working under the hospitality and tourism business. This is tomake readers understand various dimensions of achieving customer loyalty by adoptingsustainable practices.

Sustainable Tourism : Principles, Contexts and Practices [eBook]

This new textbook provides a comprehensive overview of sustainable tourism framed around the UN's sustainable development goals. It examines the origins and dimensions of sustainable tourism and offers a detailed account of sustainable initiatives and management across destinations, the tourism industry, public sector and leading agencies. The book explores the principal values and priorities in sustainable development through a better understanding of values, ethics and human nature. It covers a broad range of studies from an array of disciplinary perspectives and includes learning objectives, discussion questions and international case studies throughout. It is an important text for students and researchers in tourism and sustainability.

The Future of Tourism : Innovation and Sustainability [eBook]

This book presents the foundations for the future of tourism in a structured and detailed format. The who-is-who of tourism intelligence has collaborated to present a definitive blueprint for tourism reflecting the role of science, market institutions, and governance in its innovation and sustainability. The book adopts a comprehensive approach, exploring recent research and the latest developments in practice to inform the reader about instruments and actions that can shape a successful future for tourism. Broad in scope, the book incorporates the perspectives of leading tourism academics, as well as the views of tourism entrepreneurs, destination managers, government officials, and civil leaders. 

Counting the Cost of COVID-19 on the Global Tourism Industry [eBook]

This book profiles preliminary findings on the impact of COVID-19 on the travel, tourism and hospitality sector. Starting with a narrative relating COVID-19 to the global development agendas, the book proceeds with a focus on global tourism value chains and linkages between COVID-19 and the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). Other perspectives addressed in separate chapters include impacts of COVID-19 on various industries within the global tourism value chain including aviation, airports, cruise ships, car rentals as well as ride and share car services, hotels, restaurants, sporting, pilgrimage and religious tourism, gaming and entertainment, and the stock market. The book also includes chapters on corporate, philanthropic and public donations, as well as tourism economic stimulus packages.