Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Creative business: Books

Finding books

Books and e-books

In de displays below you will find examples of books and e-books relating to Creative business available in NHL Stenden library. 

Some of the books are part of the Ebsco E-book collection (or one of the other ebooks databases) en can be read online or you can save/download/print pages from these books. Find out by moving the cursor over the title of the book.
 

Finding books

Use Catalogue NHLStenden library to locate these books in the library or use the eBooks databases to find e-books on your topic. Want to know how to find more books in hardcopy or e-books in the library? Use the Information literacy libguide to find out: Information literacy - I want to find a book and Information literacy - Topics and search terms

Media

Media Today : Mass Communication in a Converging World

Through the convergence lens they learn to think critically about the role of media today and what these changes mean for their lives presently and in the future. The book's media systems approach helps students to look carefully at how media content is created, distributed, and exhibited in the new world that the digital revolution has created. From newspapers to video games and social networking to mobile platforms, Media Today prepares students to live in the digital world of media.

What Media Classes Really Want to Discuss : A Student Guide

This book focuses on topics that introductory textbooks generally ignore, although they are prominent in students'minds. Using approachable prose, this book will give students a more precise critical language to discuss “common sense” phenomena about media. The book acknowledges that students begin introductory film and television courses thinking they already know a great deal about the subject. What Media Classess Really Want To Discuss provides students with a solid starting point for discussing their assumptions critically and encourages the reader to argue with the book, furthering the 'discussion 'on media in everyday life and in the classroom.

Handbook of Research on Deception, Fake News, and Misinformation Online

This book provides broad perspectives, practices, and case studies on online deception. It also offers deception-detection methods on how to address the challenges of the various aspects of deceptive online communication and cyber fraud. While highlighting topics such as behavior analysis, cyber terrorism, and network security, this publication explores various aspects of deceptive behavior and deceptive communication on social media, as well as new methods examining the concepts of fake news and misinformation, character assassination, and political deception

Applied Mass Communication Theory : A Guide for Media Practitioners

This book bridges a review of theory to the contemporary work of media professionals. The text provides a framework for constructing an undergraduate research project. It also presents vital chronological information on the progression of theory in mass communication, including a model that integrates mass communication theories and shows how they relate to one another. It concludes with information on media law, ethics, economics, and mass media careers, establishing a critical framework for students as they leave college and begin their first jobs. This Second Edition discusses mass communication theory and its applications in both traditional print and broadcast applications. By exploring advertising and public relations in this new digital multi-media environment, this text remains relevant, and in fact necessary, for students in the field.

Spreadable Media : Creating Value and Meaning in a Networked Culture

How sharing, linking, and liking have transformed the media and marketing industries Spreadable Media is a rare inside look at today's ever-changing media landscape. The days of corporate control over media content and its distribution have been replaced by the age of what the digital media industries have called user-generated content. Spreadable Media maps these fundamental changes, and gives readers a comprehensive look into the rise of participatory culture, from internet memes to presidential tweets. Spreadable Media provides a clear understanding of how people are spreading ideas and the implications these activities have for business, politics, and everyday life, both on- and offline.

Research

Social research methods / Bryman

This introduction to research methods provides students and researchers with coverage of both quantitative and qualitative methods. Bridging the gap between theory and practice, Social Research Methods is packed full of engaging examples and practical tips to equip students with the tools and knowledge needed for them to complete their own research projects.

Qualitative research methods for media studies / Brennen

Qualitative Research Methods for Media Studies provides students and researchers with the tools they need to perform critically engaged, theoretically informed research using methods that include interviewing, focus groups, historical research, oral histories, ethnography and participant observation, textual analysis and online research.  Each chapter features step-by-step instructions that integrate theory with practice, as well as a case study drawn from published research demonstrating best practices for media.

Media and communication research methods: An introduction to qualitative and quantitative approaches / Berger

Media and Communication Research Methods, Fourth Edition is a concise and practical text designed to give students a step-by-step introduction to conducting media and communication research. Offering real-world insights along with the authorÂ’s signature animated style, this text makes the discussion of complex qualitative and quantitative methods easy to comprehend.

Marketing

Hidden Persuasion : 33 Psychological Influence Techniques in Advertising

Visual messages are omnipresent in our daily life. They are constantly attempting to persuade us to buy, learn and act. Some are more successful than others in influencing our behavior and choices. What is the secret power of these messages? How do they succeed in changing our behavior? This book analyzes advertising beyond the persuasive power of the imagery itself. It explains the psychology behind 33 effective influence techniques in visual persuasion and how to apply them

Marketing Strategy for Creative and Cultural Industries

This textbook provides students and potential managers in the creative industries with a solid grounding in how to maximize the impact of their marketing efforts across a range of business types in the creative and cultural  industries. With a range of learning exercises and real-life examples, this text shows how to create and execute successful marketing plans for creative businesses and is useful for marketing students and practitioners.

Marketing In Creative Industries : Value, Experience and Creativity

This book addresses the specific challenges of marketing in the creative industries, whilst applying marketing theory to a wide range of international examples. It combines a comprehensive and innovative perspective on customer value theory with practical marketing strategies and detailed case studies. Based around the concept of customer value, it will provide you with the analytical and decisional tools necessary to succeed in creative industries.

Handbook of Media Branding

This comprehensive handbook critically addresses current issues and achievements in the field of media branding. By discussing media branding from different viewpoints, disciplines and research traditions, this book offers fresh perspectives and identifies areas of interest for further research. The authors highlight the peculiarities of this field and reveal links and commonalities with other areas of study within communication science. The chapters address different research areas, such as society-, content-, management-, audience- as well as advertising aspects of media brands.

Management

Cultural Entrepreneurship : The Cultural Worker’s Experience of Entrepreneurship

This book explores the lived experience of cultural entrepreneurship examining the challenges associated with cultural labour including the insecurities of managing precarious working conditions. Drawing on interviews conducted with cultural workers, Cultural Entrepreneurship focuses on how individuals articulate their experience of entrepreneurship in the cultural and creative industries. Noting the importance of place, the local cultural milieu is examined as a means of situating entrepreneurial practices through cultural and enterprise policies, local networks, and significant relationships. Within this framework, the cultural entrepreneurs'stories reveal means of subverting or re-interpreting identities and the possibility for ‘rethinking cultural entrepreneurship

Managing Media Businesses : A Game Plan to Navigate Disruption and Uncertainty

This book is a practical guide to every aspect of managing media businesses. It addresses the unprecedented change and uncertainty facing the industry. While more and more content is being published, fewer and fewer businesses are finding a way to do so profitably and sustainably. With real-life case studies, to establish a base upon which you can start to build the set of managerial tools that you will need to manage fast-changing media and entertainment businesses.

Managing Media Firms and Industries : What's So Special About Media Management?

This volume provides rich insight into the nature and practice of media management. Contributions assess the degree to which management of media firms requires a unique set of skills, highlighting similarities and differences of media firms compared with other industries in terms of management practices, HR development and operational aspects. Success and limitations of research on media management theory is evaluated, both drawing on management theory and examining insights from other disciplines. Dimensions for future research are considered along with practical implications for media managers and corporate structures.

Business Model Generation

Business Model Generation is a handbook for visionaries, game changers, and challengers striving to defy outmoded business models and design tomorrow's enterprises. If your organization needs to adapt to harsh new realities, but you don't yet have a strategy that will get you out in front of your competitors, you need Business Model Generation. The book takes powerful strategic ideas and tools, and makes them easy to implement in your organization. It explains the most common Business Model patterns, based on concepts from leading business thinkers, and helps you reinterpret them for your own context. You will learn how to systematically understand, design, and implement a game-changing business model--or analyze and renovate an old one. Along the way, you'll understand at a much deeper level your customers, distribution channels, partners, revenue streams, costs, and your core value proposition.