Image by rawpixel.com on Freepik
Providing a service to create an experience, is the focus of marketing in this atelier. It is about value creation in the contemporary field.
Your Professional Marketing Assignment for Learning Outcome 5.1 focuses on four marketing expertise fields: Value Creation, Marketing Mix, Experience Marketing, and Hospitality Branding. Hospitality Branding is about marketing actions to enhance the value of businesses such as hotels, restaurants, and pubs. The focus this semester is on the NHG brand structure. This semester's focus is on understanding the brand persona, brand story, and customer journey regarding the NHG sub-brands such as Notiz Hotel and Wannee. Value Creation covers the growth of company owners, employees, and guests' worth. The (Service) Marketing Mix includes the 7Ps of the service industry (Product, Price, Place, Promotion, People, Processes, and Physical Evidence). Experience Marketing centers on understanding and enhancing the guests’ internal positive states such as joy. Experience Marketing goes into the change from the 7Ps of Service Marketing into the 7Es of Experience, Exchange, Extension, Emphasis, Empathy, Emotional touchpoints, and Emic/Etic process. This semester focuses on the way the P of People (Personnel) is currently filled out by the NHG sub-brand of the Design Challenge and how the guests’ experiences might be improved by the transformation to the E of Empathy Capital.
The enhanced understanding of these four marketing expertise fields is thought to enable you to come up with a well-thought-out improvement from a marketing perspective regarding your NHG sub-brand Design Challenge. This Marketing Assignment is intended to be carried out by teams/ groups that work together on a Design Challenge (DC) in the specific context and the situation of the Design Challenge NHG sub-brand and the person of your Industry Partner. At Level 1 you are expected to operationalize and apply these four marketing perspectives and show an understanding of their interrelationship in the context of your Design Challenge.
RHH Professional Marketing Assignment
Based on the LO5.1 Explanation and the trialogical DBE-principle, the RHH Marketing Assignment needs to allow Industry Partners, Students, and Teachers to determine to what degree students have identified marketing solutions in a methodical manner for hospitality departments based on their basic marketing knowledge, skills, attitudes, and values. Applied to the four topics of this semester (Hospitality Branding, Value Creation, Marketing Mix, and Experience Marketing) this results in the formulation of the marketing assignment as: A Design Challenge prototype regarding the P of People (Personnel) to improve guest experiences of the Design Challenge brand such as Notiz Hotel or Wannee. The Appendix includes the presentation of this RHH Marketing Assignment.
RHH Professional Assignment Introduction
Your Professional Marketing Assignment for Learning Outcome 5.1 focuses on four marketing expertise fields: Value Creation, Marketing Mix, Experience Marketing, and Hospitality Branding. Hospitality Branding is about marketing actions to enhance the value of businesses as hotels, restaurants, and pubs. The focus in this semester on the NHG brand structure (see Appendices 1, 2, and 3). In this semester the focus is on understanding the brand persona, brand story, and customer journey regarding the NHG sub brands such as Notiz Hotel and Wannee (see Appendix 1,2 and 3). Value Creation covers the growth of company owners, employees, and guest worth. The (Service)
Marketing Mix includes the 7Ps of the service industry (Product, Price, Place, Promotion, People, Processes, and Physical Evidence). Experience Marketing centres on understanding and enhancing the guests’ internal positive states such as their joy. Experience Marketing goes into the change from the 7Ps of Service Marketing into the 7Es of Experience, Exchange, Extension, Emphasis, Empathy,
Emotional touchpoints, and Emic/Etic process. In This semester focuses on the way the P of People (Personnel) is currently filled out by the NHG sub brand of the Design Challenge and how the guests’ experiences might be improved by the transformation to the E of Empathy Capital. Empathy capital covers to what degree employees, who are in contact with customers, think ‘guest first’ at both an emotional level (how does he/she feel today) and a cognitive level (what does he/she need to his/her feeling today). The enhanced understanding of these four marketing expertise fields is thought to enable you to come up with a well-thought improvement from a marketing perspective regarding your NHG sub brand Design Challenge.
This Marketing Assignment is intended to be carried out by teams/ groups that work together on a Design Challenge (DC) in the specific context and the situation of the Design Challenge NHG sub brand and the person of your Industry Partner. At Level1 you are expected to operationalise and apply these four marketing perspectives and show understanding of their interrelationship in the context of your Design Challenge. Based on your analysis, you ‘decide’ what ‘change’ could/ should be made by the transformation from the P of People (Personnel) to the E of Empathy Capital to enhance the guest experience of your DC sub brand in the near and further future (short and medium term) and thus increase the value of the sub brand. You may do this by changing the current script of the front desk employee in order to integrate the brand story and sustainability of Notiz Hotel during the registration of the customer.
Figure 6. Sphere Pictures as Inspiration
RHH Professional Marketing Assignment Instructions
Each Design Challenge Group submits a paper of a maximum of 600 Words following the SIBC structure. It starts with a Summary, followed by an Introduction to your Design Challenge (DC) and the NHG sub brand involved. Then the Body of you text covers your research and analysis. It closes with Conclusions and Recommendations, and a Reference list in APA style. The core of your document covers three sections/ chapters:
Finally, you create a great design, including a cover with a title that fits the message of your analysis, a visualization of this title, a subtitle that covers the content (RHH Marketing Assignment), the date, and the (brand) name of your team as the key of marketing is be able to attract guests by presenting your product hospitable; in this assignment covering an attractive, concise, consistent, and systematic paper with visuals matching your text paragraphs as the key of DBE is visualization.
2 Systematic means that you use a specific theoretical model. This may be one you found yourself or one from the Libguide. Please refer in your document to the author(s) of this model.
RHH Marketing Expert Sessions
Throughout the entire semester, there are five sessions planned: four Marketing Expert Sessions and one Marketing Walk-In Session (last session). The first four sessions cover the four marketing topics relevant to LO5.1. The walk-in session is intended for a dialogue on the provided Marketing Expert feedback. It is up to each lecturer to structure the class sessions how s/he sees fit.
An idea concerning the sessions might be (with PowerPoint examples provided in Teams Group HMS Marketing Lesson Plans:
|
Session 1. |
Introduction overall marketing program, the four topics, expert, NHG sub brands, professional assignment, recommended literature, working of expert course on BlackBoard |
|
Session 2. |
Value Creation |
|
Session 3. |
Marketing and Hospitality Experience |
|
Session 4. |
Branding, Brand Story, and Brand Consistency |
|
Session 5. |
Walk-in with dialogue on feedback provided by Marketing Expert. |
Feedback:
Students are enabled to submit the RHH Marketing Assignment two times for feedback at set deadlines:
Each Design Challenge Group needs to upload this RHH Marketing Assignment at least once for feedback from the Marketing Expert on the RHH Grade Centre.
Level 1 Marketing has an introductory nature and is brought into the context of the specific Learning Outcomes of its two semesters. RHH focuses on “Hospitality Experience and Value Creation” (Marketing Syllabus 2023-2024, p.9). With the help of class sessions, students explore the application of marketing in the real world based on a theoretical understanding and an explanation of the four marketing fields covered this semester: Hospitality Branding, Value Creation, Marketing Mix, and Experience Marketing. For each marketing concept, a conceptual model will be leading.
RHH Learning Outcomes
The RHH Marketing Assignment focuses on Learning Outcome (LO) 5.1: “Understanding valuable
[marketing] solutions for an operational department”. Table 1 presents an overview of LO 5.1, its Explanation, and Indicators that are covered in the 20 weeks of the RHH semester, and the marketing topics connected to it. As the indicators are currently under revision, the focus of this lesson plan is on the LO5.1-Explanantion.
Level 1 Marketing has an introductory nature and is brought into the context of the specific Learning
Outcomes of its two semesters. RHH focuses on “Hospitality Experience and Value Creation” (Marketing Syllabus 2023-2024, p.9). With the help of class sessions, students explore on the application of marketing in the real world based of a theoretical understanding and an explanation of the four marketing fields covered in this semester: Hospitality Branding, Value Creation, Marketing Mix, and Experience Marketing. Per marketing concept, a conceptual model will be leading. Table 2 presents some conceptual opportunities.
Table 2: Some conceptual opportunities
This video is part of a tutorial on Branding in Hospitality & Tourism via:
https://study.com/academy/lesson/branding-in-hospitality-tourism-traits-examples.html
Coupler.io Academy. (October 12, 2018). Value Proposition Canvas by Strategyzer.com explained through the Uber Example. [Video]. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?app=desktop&v=kiWkRiynPAo
StartupSOS (July 16, 2018). A Value Proposition Canvas Example. [Video]. You Tube.https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KjErbysfimM
Great brands don’t become great by sheer luck. Their success is a result of a combination of factors, and brand strategy is at the centre stage.
Read more here:
Houraghan S. (n.d.). 20 Inspiring Brands With Killer Brand Strategy Examples. Brandmasteracademy. https://brandmasteracademy.com/inspiring-brands/
When someone thinks about a company they might want to work with or buy from, it’s usually an aspect of the company’s brand that comes to mind first.
Read more here:
Barker J. (December 15, 2020) 5 Powerful branding examples to learn from. Brafton. https://www.brafton.com/blog/content-marketing/branding-examples/
An elderly couple celebrates their 40th wedding anniversary with a visit to the Rijksmuseum followed by a quiet stroll along the Amstel.
Read more here:
Lin. (January 7, 2020). Content marketing for hotels: 10 examples and takeaways. Dear Content. https://www.dearcontent.com/content-marketing-for-hotels-10-examples-and-takeaways/
Feast your eyes on these creative ad campaigns in the hotel marketing world. From luxury hotels to casual hostels, our list is filled with examples to inspire any hotel marketer.
Read more here:
Manypixels. (April 22, 2022). 12 Best Advertisement Examples in the Hotel Marketing World. Manypixels. https://www.manypixels.co/blog/inspiration/best-hotel-as
Read more here:
Gravel A. (February, 2023). 10 examples of strong brand storytelling. Toast studio. https://www.toaststudio.com/en/pg-volvo-and-other-examples-of-strong-brand-storytelling/
Disney's Star Wars hotel comes with an out-of-this-world price tag
Pallotta, F. (2021, August 4) Disney's Star Wars hotel comes with an out-of-this-world price tag. CNN Business. https://edition.cnn.com/2021/08/04/media/disney-star-wars-hotel-price/index.html
SMPL. (n.d.). 17 best experiential marketing examples. Simple booth. https://www.simplebooth.com/blog/best-experiential-marketing-examples-and-ideas/
The NHL Stenden Brand structure (called Brand Fan) has four levels:
Level 1. Parent brand NHL Stenden including Campus Catering and Meeting u, the Library, and most courses; Meeting u and Campus Catering use the NHL Stenden logo without a caption in their communications
Level 2. Hotel Management School, Maritime Institute Willem Barentsz, and Thorbecke Academy have 80-90% visual style similarity with NHL Stenden parent brand
Level 3. Notiz Hotel and Restaurant Wannee have 40-60 % visual style similarity with NHL Stenden parent brand; they have their own (external) target group
Level 4. Academy of International Hospitality Research and European Tourism Futures Institute are stand-alone brands with their own logos.
NHL Stenden Brand Fan
The sub-brands of NHG (called 'outlets') are Notiz Hotel, Restaurant Wannee, Restaurant Stones (in Emmen), Meeting u, and Campus Catering. Campus Catering includes Café Brandstof, Café IF, Canteen, Catering, Central Brew, Espressobar, Foodcourt, and Production kitchen.
Active Perspective. (November 17, 2020). Notiz Hotel - Leeuwarden.[Video]. You Tube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cj8fleQxptA
Notiz Hotel Brand Story 2023
|
Notiz Hotel We are Notiz Hotel. A hotel to be noticed, and where we see our guests and the world around us differently. The name Notiz already says it: when you are with us, you'll be noticed. It's because hospitality is in our DNA, and if you look carefully, you'll definitely also see things that are different to usual. We believe in the power of surprise. And that’s only possible if you do things differently. So we look at day-to-day things in a different manner and give them a new twist. And this means that as a guest, you’ll keep being positively surprised. The daily running of the hotel is carried out by our very best Hotel Management School students, the managers of the future. Under the guidance of the best professionals, these students ensure you are given twice as much attention and caringly go the extra mile to make your visit unforgettable. We also make sure we do not lose sight of the world around us. We have adopted the principles of Dutch cuisine, implement it throughout our hotel and conscientiously opt for local and sustainable. Why bring in something from afar when it's already close by – and at least as good. We select only the very best quality. You feel it with your wonderful bed made in Deventer. You smell it with the extensive soap bar in your bathroom with the most gorgeous local, handmade soaps. You see it in the used wood from the Frisian forests. And you taste it in our Wannee restaurant when you treat yourself to pure, local dishes free of additives. In our search for change and improvement, we have the courage to look past the end of our hotel hallways. We are proud to say that we are a hotel that is leading when it comes to sustainability, hospitality and innovation. We would like to invite you to test it out for yourselves. Come and discover how surprisingly different we are. |
The Wannee Brand Story (2023), short edition
|
Honesty tastes the best Honesty is the best policy. It’s an old proverb and at Restaurant Wannee, we know better than anyone that honesty also tastes the best by far. Led by SVH Master Chef Albert Kooy, we make a conscious decision to follow the principles he came up with that form the foundation of the Dutch Cuisine manifesto, which means we present you with the best ingredients grown on Dutch soil and the richest culinary traditions we know in the concept of the New Dutch Cuisine. Fair, flavourful, local dishes, with no artificial flavourings, and for which unusual vegetables and methods of preparation play a major role. Pure and natural. Our attention to taste is coupled with our attention to the impact our diet has on the earth. In respect to our Dutch culinary culture, we’ve named our restaurant after Cornelia Johanna Wannée, the author of one of the first Dutch cookbooks. Almost a century later, we honour her life’s work in our restaurant. If you’d like to find out more, you’re welcome to come and try us out. |
The Wannee Brand Story (2023) full edition
|
Honesty tastes the best Honesty is the best policy, they say. It's an old proverb and at Restaurant Wannee, we know better than anyone that honesty also tastes the best by far. Led by SVH Master Chef Albert Kooy, we make a conscious decision to follow the principles he came up with that form the foundation of the Dutch Cuisine manifesto, which means we give you the best ingredients grown on Dutch soil and the richest culinary traditions we know in the concept of the New Dutch Cuisine. Fair, flavourful, local dishes without any artificial flavourings. Pure and natural. Out of respect for our culture of Dutch dining, we've named our restaurant after Cornelia Johanna Wannée, the author of one of the first Dutch cookbooks. Almost a century after the first publication, we're honouring her life's work in our restaurant. Our attention to taste is coupled with our attention to the impact our diet has on the earth. We share this wisdom with our students who learn the intricacies of the trade in our kitchens. They also get a taste of this wisdom as they serve in the spirit of true hospitality. Without our students, there would be no Wannee. As flavour enhancer, SVH Master Chef Albert Kooy focuses on the culture of Dutch dining, building on unusual vegetables and methods of preparation. Nature basically determines the menu. In fact, the dish you are served should tell you where you are in the Netherlands and what season of the year it is. If you’d like to find out more, you’re welcome to come and try us out. |