Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

* Toolbox Information literacy skills: Search, Find and Evaluate Sources: Finding Information sources

Searching,finding, evaluating and managing sources made easy

Kick off: How can you find the right source for the information you need.

On this page, you can find information about which type of information source to use. Therefore it is useful to find out early on in your assignment what sort of information you need. This will determine where you should search. Is the information you need available in a magazine, a blog, on a company website, or in a business report, or do you need to find the information in an academic paper, thesis, or journal?

Not all information is suitable for every purpose. Sometimes you will need to find out about the latest advances in your subject area, and another time you will need statistics to back up your report.

Before you begin searching, you need to have a clear idea of the different types of information and related sources. This section will help you with making the distinction between the different types of sources. Once you have an overview of the available sources you can make a list of relevant sources for your specific search. 

 

Why you need to know the distinction between different source types and types of sources.

Libguides offer a selection of information sources on various topics and are created to give more in-depth resource information about a course or a minor. They include titles of books that are useful for study in a particular field, they can include videos about specific topics linked to the aims of the course. Libguides can also contain direct links to articles or journals that are linked to the field of study within a course.  They are created and maintained by the information specialists at the NHLStenden Library.

Check out the Libguides that were already created for minors and courses of NHLStenden: LibGuides

Test yourself and see how distinguishing between types of sources will help you find the right information

Activity: If I can google it,  it must be true.

Websites usually look very professional, and the idea that they are not always of good quality is not clearly identifiable. In this activity find a website that is of interest to you and then see if you can confirm the information from two other sources.

The objective of this activity is to confirm the veracity of information and will challenge your belief of relying on a single website for information.

  1. Open the word document 
  2. Go online and find a website that you consider to be good on your topic (the one you feel has good information).
  3. Find two other sources (book, article, person, etc.) to confirm the information you found.
  4. Discuss your experience: did the website provide the right information, or was it limited information? Was the information always correct, or were there gaps in the information? Did the website refer to any sources of reference? How do you know you can believe the information?

You can download the website comparison worksheet below.

Matching the source tothe type of information you need

In this exercise, you need to match the source with the type of information it gives. By doing so you will see that depending on your question you need to find a source that is most likely to yield the information that you are looking for to answer your question.

This is how you can find different types of sources in our library.

If you are looking for a book (printed or electronic), you can look it up in the NHL Stenden library catalogue. In this catalogue, you will find the entire collection of the NHLStenden Library. An e-book purchased by NHLStenden can be read on a campus PC or on your own PC when you are logged in with your NHLStenden account. 

Besides the catalogue, you can find e-books in databases such as:
- EBSCO databases: E-books from almost all academies
Boom Digitale Bibliotheek
- Safari: O'Reilly's Learning Platform for Higher Education: a repository of content from over 250 publishers supported with innovative technologies and tools.

NB! Many e-books are also available via Open Access. Account NHLStenden.

You can find up-to-date information sources on the internet, but also via the databases below:
- Nexis Uni: a database containing news and business information including local, regional, national, and international newspapers with extensive archives.
- Delpher (Dutch): a database with millions of digitized texts from Dutch newspapers (but also from books and magazines). 

In Statline you can find Dutch statistical data. Statline is the database of the Central Bureau of Statistics. 

International (statistical) data can be found at:
OECD i-Library: statistical databases in various fields, such as economics, science, and technology, agriculture and food, employment, energy, environment, education, social sciences, migration, and health.
Statista: Statista is a portal in the field of statistics. It includes data from market research and opinion polling institutes, as well as employers' organizations and government agencies. 

The NHLStenden Library has subscriptions to a large number of printed and online journals. You have access to the online journals with your NHL Stenden email account. You can search by title, keyword, or topic, or browse the A-Z paging list.