LibGuides: Unpacking Tourism: Arch 2: Destinations &amp; Stakeholders

Literature

Tourism, A Modern Synthesis by Stephen J. Page; Joanne Connell
ISBN: 9781003005520
Publication Date: 2020-04-29
Tourism can be a challenging subject for students because it is both dynamic and susceptible to economic turbulence and shifts in trends. Tourism: A Modern Synthesis is an essential textbook for tourism students seeking a clear and comprehensive introduction to their studies that addresses these challenges. The authors apply a business approach to the subject, reflecting developments in the teaching and content of university courses, and the text covers both key principles and contemporary themes and issues at a global scale. Among the new features and topics included in this fifth edition are: New and fully updated case studies to reflect current trends and emerging markets including Africa and Asia. Up-to-date content on disruptive technologies such as Airbnb, low-cost airlines, the e-travel revolution and future developments. Current debates in sustainable tourism including the anti-tourism movement, plastic use and the Sustainable Development Goals. New content on evolving topics such as future employment, human resource management in tourism and generational marketing.
Tourism: The Business of Hospitality and Travel by Roy A. Cook Cathy H. C. Hsu Lorraine Taylor
ISBN: 9781292221687
For introductory hospitality or tourism courses A comprehensive, international view of the business of tourismThe engaging writing style and hundreds of updated industry examples make Tourism: The Business of Hospitality and Travel, 6/e, the perfect textbook for students taking their first hospitality or tourism class. It views the industry from a holistic, global business perspective—examining the management, marketing and finance issues most important to industry members. Chapters reveal an integrated model of tourism and address consumer behavior, service quality, and personal selling. The thoroughness of content and references also make it suitable for upper-level hospitality and tourism courses. Readings and integrative cases close each part, and end-of-chapter exercises allow students to apply their knowledge and refine their problem-solving and critical-thinking skills. This edition includes new and updated material on social media, event management, timeshares, sustainable and marijuana tourism, and the future of tourism.

Destination Marketing Essentials by Steven Pike
ISBN: 9781003032205
Publication Date: 2020-10-19
Destination Marketing offers the reader an integrated and comprehensive overview of the key challenges and constraints facing destination marketing organisations (DMOs) and how destination marketing can be planned, implemented and evaluated to achieve successful destination competitiveness.

Read the following article from the Open Journal for Research in Economics from 2018

Slivar, I. (2018). Stakeholders in a tourist destination – matrix of possible relationships towards sustainability. Open Journal for Research in Economics, 1(1),1-10

Abstract:

Given that the fragile balance of sustainability is affected by several actors whose interests need to be harmonized, different forms of association among them are one of the mechanisms for achieving sustainability. A lot of understanding, research, and co-operative effort are required to create and sustain various forms of collaboration of tourism stakeholders. The role of collaboration in tourism destinations has been widely acknowledged, however it is still one of the key stumbling stones of sustainable tourism development in practice. The focus of this paper will be on two-way destination stakeholders’ collaborations, presented systematically in a matrix of typical relationships, representing its theoretical contribution. A panel of experts from the academia, practice and public sector developed the matrix of relationships with the scope of spreading different forms of collaboration between stakeholders aimed at jointly improving the right balance needed for sustainable development in tourism.

You can read the full article here:

https://www.researchgate.net/publication/327786197_Stakeholders_in_a_Tourist_Destination_-_Matrix_of_Possible_Relationships_Towards_Sustainability

Read the following post by Dr Hailey Stainton

Stainton, H. (2022, June 1). What is Doxey’s Irritation Index and how does it work?. Tourism Teacher. https://tourismteacher.com/doxeys-irritation-index/

What is Doxey’s Irritation Index and how does it work?

The 10 As of Successful Tourism Destinations

How can it be determined if a tourism destination is successful or not? And if the destination is judged to be successful, can the DMO take the sole credit for this great achievement? These are hugely difficult questions to answer but nevertheless they should be tackled.

Read the entire article via:

https://www.researchgate.net/publication/261360325_The_10_As_of_Successful_Tourism_Destinations

Morrison, A. M. (2014). The 10 As of Successful Tourism Destinations. Retrieved from Research Gate: https://www. researchgate. net/publication/261360325.

NBTC Knowledge base

NBTC Figures & Trends reports about markets and visitors, local residents and destinations,

Also NBTC collects data about who visits the Netherlands and why. MarketScans provide insight information, the national economy and the travel behaviour of inhabitants in each country of origin.

UNWTO ELibrary - World Tourism Organization

In the database WTO-eLibrary you can find all the publications from the World Tourism Organisation. The subject areas reflect all important themes moving the tourism sector and include, among other, ecotourism, sustainable development, finance and investment, risk and crisis management, market research, tourism statistics and poverty alleviation. The UNWTO Elibrary contains books, journals and statistical reports by country and by indicator.

Stay up-to-date with the Word Tourism Barometer:

Statistics CBS

As the national statistical office, Statistics Netherlands (CBS) provides reliable statistical information and data to produce insight into social issues, thus supporting the public debate, policy development and decision-making while contributing to prosperity, well-being and democracy.

Figures / Statline (statistical database)

Publications

Statista

Statista is an on-line portal in the field of statistics. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions as wel as from business associations and government institutios in English and German. Statista offers statistics and survey results in the form of bar charts and tables.

Data Fryslan

Check out the dashboards of Data Fryslan on tourism (Dutch language)

Toere troch Fryslan: Om de toerist in Friesland beter te leren kennen, is het zinvol om de zogenaamde klantreis (customer journey) van bezoekers aan Friesland in kaart te brengen. DataFryslân heeft hiervoor verschillende (Big-) databronnen bekeken en op een rij gezet. Het beter leren kennen van bezoekers geeft waardevolle inzichten.

Dashboard toerisme Fryslan: Het aanbod en capaciteit van accommodaties in Fryslân.

Datalandschap toerisme: Dit dashboard geeft een overzicht van het Friese datalandschap(databronnen, organisaties) in het domein Toerisme & Recreatie.

OECD iLibrary

In the OECD i-Library you can find reports on many topics: economics, politics, environment, energy, education, social sciences and health.

Click on Statistics in the menu and choose de database OECD Tourism statistics to find statistics on tourism indicators related to domestic travel, international travel, employment and economic data.

The report below is published every two years. It recommended a description of the trends in tourism worldwide and also tourism in 50 different countries, including the Netherlands.

Alle Cijfers

Perspectives 2013

Perspective 2030 is about destination the Netherlands. It is about the transformative power of tourism and the contribution of this industry to the social challenges of The Netherlands. This vision takes into account the major differences between cities and regions. It transcends individual actors and involves related industries and policy areas. Direct and indirect stakeholders, NBTC included, may choose how they wish to contribute to the realisation of the perspective.