LibGuides: Unpacking Tourism: Arch 3: Tourism & Sectors

Literature

Cultural Heritage and Tourism by Dallen J. Timothy
ISBN: 9781845417703
Publication Date: 2020-12-03
Cultural heritage is one of the most important tourism resources in the world. This book provides a comprehensive theoretical overview and applied knowledge of the issues, practices, current debates, concepts and management concerns associated with cultural heritage-based tourism. The second edition has been updated to include timely and emerging topics such as geopolitics, conflict, solidarity tourism, overtourism and climate change. It also expands on important areas such as environmental change, technology, social media, heritage economics, Indigenous knowledge and co-created experiences. This edition includes up-to-date data, statistics, references, case material, figures and pedagogical tools. It remains an important and accessible text for undergraduate and postgraduate students of cultural and heritage tourism, cultural resource management, and museum management.
Outdoor Recreation by David Huddart; Timothy Stott
ISBN: 9783319977577
Publication Date: 2019-11-06
This textbook presents a comprehensive overview of the environmental impacts of various types of outdoor recreation, and how these can be best managed. As a field of study, recreational ecology is both multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary, and the authors seek to develop a deeper understanding of both the role and function of the factors that influence visitor numbers and their impact. An accessible and comprehensive textbook, it features numerous types of outdoor recreational activities including hill walking, rock climbing, mountain marathons, skiing, scuba diving and more.Drawn from several global case studies, the authors estimate the current and future numbers involved in outdoor recreation, and how best these numbers can be managed. Effective visitor impact management actions arise from collaboration between recreation ecologists, social scientists, experienced recreation managers, recreation stakeholders and the recreationalists themselves: as such, this book will be multi-disciplinary in scope. This practical and engaging textbook will be invaluable to students and scholars of outdoor recreation and adventure tourism as well as practitioners and managers working in the field.
Food and Agricultural Tourism by Susan L. Slocum; Kynda R. Curtis
ISBN: 9781138931107
Publication Date: 2017-10-23
This book fills a gap in the growing academic discipline of food and agricultural tourism, offering the first multidisciplinary approach to food tourism and the role it plays in economic development, destination marketing, and gastronomic exploration. It provides a comprehensive introduction to the discipline by considering food tourism in connection with both cultural values and important issues in agriculture, food consumption and safety, and rural heritage and sustainability. The book is divided into four Parts. Part I defines the elements of food tourism and explains its relationship with sustainability. Part II provides an overview of rural development and demonstrates the impact of industrialization and globalization on eating habits. Part III focuses on food tourism studies and market segmentation techniques to help students understand customer needs regarding food tourism products. Finally, Part IV looks at the financial, policy, and legal requirements relating to food tourism development, providing hands-on tools for students entering food tourism businesses or industries.
Dark Tourism by Glenn Hooper (Editor); John J. Lennon (Editor)
ISBN: 9781472452436
Publication Date: 2016-07-14
Dark Tourism, as well as other terms such as Thanatourism and Grief Tourism, has been much discussed in the past two decades. This volume provides a comprehensive exploration of the subject from the point of view of both practice - how Dark Tourism is performed, what practical and physical considerations exist on site - and interpretation - how Dark Tourism is understood, including issues pertaining to ethics, community involvement and motivation. It showcases a wide range of examples, drawing on the expertise of academics with management and consultancy experience, as well as those from within the social sciences and humanities. Contributors discuss the historical development of Dark Tourism, including its earlier incarnations across Europe, but they also consider its future as a strand within academic discourse, as well as its role within tourism development. Case studies include holocaust sites in Germany, as well as analysis of the legacy of war in places such as the Channel Islands and Malta. Ethical and myriad marketing considerations are also discussed in relation to Ireland, Brazil, Rwanda, Romania, U.K., Nepal and Bosnia-Herzegovina. This book covers issues that are of interest to students and staff across a spectrum of disciplines, from management to the arts and humanities, including conservation and heritage, site management, marketing and community participation
Film-Induced Tourism by Sue Beeton
ISBN: 9781845415839
Publication Date: 2016-09-15
This research-based monograph presents an introduction to the concept of film-induced tourism, building on the work of the seminal first edition. Many new case studies exploring the relationship between film and TV and tourism have been added and existing cases have been updated. The book incorporates studies on film studio theme parks, the impact of film-induced tourism on communities and the effect of film on tourists'behaviour. It introduces new content including film-induced tourism in non-Western cultures, movie tours and contents tourism. The book is an essential resource for postgraduate students and researchers in the fields of tourism, film and media studies.
Handbook of Research on Global Perspectives on Literary Tourism and Film-Induced Tourism by Rita Baleiro (Editor); Rosária Pereira (Editor)
ISBN: 9781799882626
Publication Date: 2021-12-10
At the end of the 20th century, the traditional forms of tourism transformed; they expanded by the introduction of new postmodern tourist forms, bringing innovative offers to the marketplace. Two of these new fast-growing forms are literary tourism and film-induced tourism, both of which fall under the umbrella of cultural tourism. Both niches of cultural tourism share the need to create products and experiences that meet the tourists'expectations. Global Perspectives on Literary Tourism and Film-Induced Tourism discusses literary tourism and film-induced tourism and documents the advances in research on the intersections of literature, film, and the act of traveling. Covering a wide range of topics from film tourism destinations to digital literary tourism, this book is ideal for travel agents, tourism agencies, tour operators, government officials, postgraduate students, researchers, academicians, cultural development councils and associations, and policymakers.
Sustainable Tourism by David A. Fennell; Chris Cooper
ISBN: 9781845417659
Publication Date: 2020-01-30
This new textbook provides a comprehensive overview of sustainable tourism framed around the UN's sustainable development goals. It examines the origins and dimensions of sustainable tourism and offers a detailed account of sustainable initiatives and management across destinations, the tourism industry, public sector and leading agencies. The book explores the principal values and priorities in sustainable development through a better understanding of values, ethics and human nature. It covers a broad range of studies from an array of disciplinary perspectives and includes learning objectives, discussion questions and international case studies throughout. It is an important text for students and researchers in tourism and sustainability.

UNWTO elibrary

In the database WTO-eLibrary you can find all the publications from the World Tourism Organisation. The subject areas reflect all important themes moving the tourism sector and include, among other, ecotourism, sustainable development, finance and investment, risk and crisis management, market research, tourism statistics and poverty alleviation. The UNWTO Elibrary contains books, journals, and statistical reports by country and by indicator.

Stay up-to-date with the Word Tourism Barometer:

Statista

Explore Statista the database containing reports and data insights in the Tourism Industry.

OECD iLibrary

In the OECD i-Library you can find reports on many topics: economics, politics, environment, energy, education, social sciences and health.

Click on Statistics in the menu and choose de database OECD Tourism statistics to find statistics on tourism indicators related to domestic travel, international travel, employment and economic data.

The report below is published every two years. It recommended a description of the trends in tourism worldwide and also tourism in 50 different countries, including the Netherlands.

Statistics CBS

As the national statistical office, Statistics Netherlands (CBS) provides reliable statistical information and data to produce insight into social issues, thus supporting the public debate, policy development and decision-making while contributing to prosperity, well-being and democracy.

Figures / Statline (statistical database)

Publications

NBTC - Holland.com

NBTC is the Netherlands’ national destination management organization. We work for and with partners in different industries on our country’s positioning, development and marketing. Together we work towards turning the Netherlands into a liveable, popular, and valuable destination, for residents, visitors and businesses.

We are responsible for developing a national vision of tourism and putting it into practice. We inspire, connect and facilitate cities, regions, and other parties with knowledge and data. We provide support for questions relating to positioning, destination development, and marketing activities. We work with the tourism industry, regional and local destination management organizations, provinces, and ministries, devising great initiatives that attract visitors for holidays or business meetings in the Netherlands.

Read more about NBTC and the national vision 'Perspective Destination Netherlands 2030' on our corporate website .

NBTC is all about the development, branding, and marketing of the Netherlands as a destination.

As the national destination management organization of and for the Netherlands, NBTC provides a national vision for tourism based on relevant knowledge and insights. We use this vision to inspire, connect and facilitate cities, regions, business owners, and other stakeholders. To make our country a liveable, popular, and valuable destination for residents, visitors, and companies.