LibGuides: Master Content and Media Strategy (MCMS): Content Strategy

Finding books and journal articles

Use Catalogue NHL Stenden Library to locate books and journals in the library. Want to know how to find more books in hardcopy or e-books in the library? Use the Information literacy libguide to find out: Information literacy - I want to find a book and Information literacy - Topics and search terms

Journal articles on Customer Journey, Corporate identity, Content strategy, Content marketing, Strategic management, Stakeholder engagement, Corporate Social Responsibility, Social media and Consumer behaviour and Consumer psychology can be found in the following library databases: Business Source Ultimate, Communication and Mass Media Complete, Science Direct and Sage Premier. Want to know how to find more journal articles? Use the Information literacy libguide to find out: Information literacy - I want to find journal articles and Information literacy - Topics and search terms

Recommended books

Strategy bites back: Strategy is far more, and less, than you ever imagined... / Mintzberg

Strategy Bites Back brings you a provocative, imaginative and surprising mix of perspectives to help stimulate more creative strategic thinking and more enjoyable strategy making. From voices as diverse as and Lucy Kellaway, Mao Tse Tung and Jack Welch, even Michael Porter and Gary Hamel, you can enjoy exploring the sharper side of strategy

Content strategy at work: Real-world stories to strengthen every interactive project / Bloomstein

This is a book for anyone who works with visual or verbal content. It discusses how you can communicate and forge a plan that will enable you, your company, or your client get that message across and foster better user experiences. Presents a content strategy framework and ways to implement in both in-house marketing departments and consultancies. Includes case studies, interviews, and lessons learned from retail, apparel, network television, business-to-business, automotive, non-profit, and higher ed brands. Details practical sales techniques to sell content strategy and use content strategy processes to sell other services and larger projects

Social media: A critical introduction / Fuchs

With social media changing how we use and understand everything from communication and the news to transport, more than ever it is essential to ask the right kinds of questions about the business and politics of social media. This book equips students with the critical thinking they need to understand the complexities and contradictions and make informed judgements.

Innovators in digital news / Kung

Why are organisations such as Vice and BuzzFeed investing in journalism and why are pedigree journalists joining them? Why are news organisations making journalists redundant but recruiting technologists? Why does everyone seem to be embracing native advertising? Why are some news organisations more innovative than others? Drawing on extensive first-hand research this book explains how different international media organisations approach digital news and pinpoints the common organisational factors that help build their success.

The Content code: Six essential strategies to ignite your content, your marketing, and your business / Schaefer

The book dives deeply into the true value of social media marketing and the steps companies need to enable to achieve measurable results. A highly practical book, offering hundreds of ideas that can be used by organizations of any size and any budget. Book highlights include in-depth explorations on the connection between brand and content transmission, a focus on audiences that will move content, practical steps to build "shareability" into all your content, and the new role of promotion, distribution and SEO in a very competitive, digital world.

Strategic management in the media: From theory to practice / Kung

''This book provides vital insights into the elements of strategy and their application to media firms. Solidly grounded in theory but not pedantic, it is essential reading for those who make or wish to comprehend choices of media companies"

Buyer persona’s: How to gain insight into your customer’s expectations, align your marketing strategies and win more business. / Revella

This book provides comprehensive coverage of a compelling new way to conduct buyer studies, plus practical advice on adopting the buyer persona approach to measurably improve marketing outcomes. Readers will learn how to segment their customer base, investigate each customer type, and apply a radically more relevant process of message selection, content creation, and distribution through the channels that earn the buyers' trust.

Books

Strategy Safari by Henry Mintzberg; Bruce Ahlstrand; Joseph B. Lampel
ISBN: 9780273719588
Publication Date: 2008-11-10
The world of strategy can seem to be an impenetrable jungle. Strategy Safari presents a antidote to the dilemma of needing to know about strategy and yet not being able to find any comprehensible guidelines. In this provocative, jargon-free and readable guide, strategy authors Mintzberg, Ahlstrand & Lampel clearly set out and critique each of the ten major schools of strategic management thinking to help you grasp what you really need to know. Revised ed.
Rebalancing Society by Henry Mintzberg
ISBN: 9781626563179
Publication Date: 2015-01-05
The world of strategy can seem to be an impenetrable jungle. Strategy Safari presents an antidote to the dilemma of needing to know about strategy and yet not being able to find any comprehensible guidelines. In this jargon-free and readable guide, strategy authors Mintzberg, Ahlstrand & Lampel clearly set out and critique each of the ten major schools of strategic management thinking to help you grasp what you really need to know. Revised ed.
Strategic Planning for Public Relations by Ronald D. Smith
ISBN: 9781138282063
Publication Date: 2017-05-24
A clear approach for students looking to learn how to develop public relations campaigns. Intended for those about entering the rapidly changing professions of public relations and strategic communication. The author shows how to implement pragmatic, research-driven strategic campaigns used in public relations practice. First, readers are exposed to new ideas, then see them in use, before finally being showed how to apply those ideas themselves.
Spreadable Media: Creating value and meaning in a networked world by Henry Jenkins; Sam Ford; Joshua Green
ISBN: 9781479856053
Publication Date: 2018-04-03
This book maps fundamental changes taking place in our contemporary media environment, where corporations no longer control media distribution and many of us are directly involved content circulation. It highlights questions content creators must tackle, responsibilities citizens face in a world where many of us regularly circulate media content and provide a clear understanding of how people are spreading ideas and the implications of this for business, politics, and everyday life.
The Logic of Connective Action by W. Lance Bennett; Alexandra Segerberg
ISBN: 9781107642720
Publication Date: 2013-08-26
This book explains the rise of a personalized digitally networked politics in which diverse individuals address the common problems of our times such as economic fairness and climate change. Rich case studies from the US, the UK and Germany illustrate a theoretical framework for understanding how large-scale connective action is coordinated. The Logic of Connective Action shows how power is organized in communication-based networks, and what political outcomes may result.
Tap by Anindya Ghose
ISBN: 9780262036276
Publication Date: 2017-04-17
With Tap, Ghose highlights the true influence mobile wields over shoppers, the behavioral and economic motivations behind that influence, and the lucrative opportunities it represents. Ghose argues, the smartphone plays the role of a personal concierge - a butler, not a stalker. Ghose identifies nine forces that shape consumer behavior, including time, crowdedness, trajectory, and weather, and he examines these how these forces operate, separately and in combination.
Digital Marketing by Dave Chaffey; Fiona Ellis-Chadwick
ISBN: 9781292077611
Publication Date: 2016-03-16
This book provides comprehensive, practical guidance on how companies can get the most out of digital media and technology to meet their marketing goals. Digital Marketing links marketing theory with practical business experience through case studies and interviews from cutting edge companies such as eBay and Facebook, to help students understand digital marketing in the real world.
Social Research Methods by Alan Bryman
ISBN: 9780199689453
Publication Date: 2016-02-03
This introduction to research methods provides students and researchers with coverage of both quantitative and qualitative methods. This book introduces the fundamental principles and underlying theories of the subject, while also offering a practical toolkit for carrying out social research.
Innovation for Media Content Creation : Tools and Strategies for Delivering Successful Content. by Quintero
ISBN: 9781604277609
Publication Date: 2015
Innovation for Media Content Creation provides a fresh approach to the strategic, logistic, creative, and managerial aspects of media content and television programming development. This well-organized, step-by-step guide provides the framework and tools needed to deliver innovative, creative content successfully and consistently in today's multi-platform television landscape.

Journals

The Public Relations Review examines public relations in depth. Most of the articles are based on empirical research undertaken by professionals and academics in the field. In addition to research articles and commentaries, The Review publishes invited research in brief, and book reviews in the fields of public relations, mass communications, organizational communications, public opinion formations, social science research and evaluation, marketing, management and public policy formation. Full text articles of this journal can be found in the database Science Direct (last 5 years).

The International Journal on Media Management provides a global examination of the fields of media and telecommunications management, with a strong emphasis on management issues. The goal of the journal is to offer a close analysis of new industry structures, organizational forms, and critical competencies in the changing media environment. The International Journal on Media Management embraces a wide and rich array of media related issues and focuses on the changes in this field evoked by rapid technical developments and convergence in the media industry and communications. Peer-reviewed. Full text articles of this journal can be found here and in hard copy in the Library

The International Journal of Communication is an online, multi-media, interdisciplinary journal that, while centered in communication, is open and welcoming to contributions from the many disciplines and approaches that meet at the crossroads that is communication study. We are interested in scholarship that crosses disciplinary lines and speaks to readers from a range of theoretical and methodological perspectives and committed to excellence in communication scholarship, journalism, media research, and application. Peer-reviewed. Full text articles of this journal can be found on the website of IJOC and in the full text database Communication and Mass Media Complete

Convergence is an international peer-reviewed academic journal which was set up in 1995 to address the creative, social, political and pedagogical issues raised by the advent of new media technologies. As an international research journal, it provides a forum both for monitoring and exploring developments in the field and for encouraging, publishing and promoting vital innovative research. Adopting an inter-disciplinary approach and published six times a year, Convergence has developed this area into an entirely new research field. Peer-reviewed. Full text articles of this journal can be found in the full text database Sage premier

The Journal of Media Business Studies (JOMBS) publishes original scholarly articles that apply business theories to the examination of media and the media industries. JOMBS focuses on the dynamics of media businesses broadly defined. It has a particular interest in the creation, operation, marketing, distribution and consumption of media businesses and their products, including newspapers, magazines, television, music, film, videogames, literature, advertising, digital/social/new media among others. Full text articles of the journal can be found here

The Journal of Marketing Channels is a professional marketing journal to focus exclusively on distribution systems, strategy, and management. The journal recognizes the growing importance of distribution as a key strategic variable in marketing management. Leading authorities from around the world present the most up-to-date and in-depth thought, analysis, and research on these topics in this refereed international quarterly journal. Articles are reviewed by the editor and at least two members of the editorial review board (academics and practitioners in the field). The full text articles can be found here.