Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Master Content and Media Strategy (MCMS): Content Creation

Finding books and journal articles

Use Catalogue NHL Stenden Library to locate books and journals in the library. Want to know how to find more books in hardcopy or e-books in the library? Use the Information literacy libguide to find out: Information literacy - I want to find a book and Information literacy - Topics and search terms

Journal articles on Media analysis, Concepting, Storytelling, Content analysis and Media theory can be found in the following library databases: Business Source Ultimate, Communication and Mass Media Complete, Science Direct and Sage Premier. Want to know how to find more journal articles?  Use the Information literacy libguide to find out: Information literacy - I want to find journal articles and Information literacy - Topics and search terms

Extra booklist (for manditory & advised see tab "Booklist")

Transmedia storytelling / Boonstra

Dit boek gaat over het zogenoemde transmedia storytelling door bedrijven en merken. Het bevat een stappenplan voor communicatieprojecten waarbij je je boodschap aankleedt met een groter verhaal. Je doelgroepen kunnen ook zelf een bijdrage leveren aan het verhaal. Het wordt verspreid via meerdere media, online en traditionele. Veel praktijkvoorbeelden, niet alleen successen maar ook mislukkingen met storytelling.

Semiotics: The basics / Chandler

This book provides a concise introduction to the key concepts of semiotics in accessible and jargon-free language. Demystifying what is a complex, highly interdisciplinary field, key questions covered include: What are signs and codes? What can semiotics teach us about representation and reality? What tools does it offer for analysing texts and cultural practices?

Design research methods: 150 ways to inform design / Curedale

This book provides quick and practical research techniques that you can use to inform design. You will be introduced to essential research techniques such as affinity diagrams so that you can successfully base your design directions on user-centered evidence to get client buy-in.

Visual communication: Images with messages / Lester

Visual Communication provides students the tools to analyze visual messages, offering physiological and theoretical background on visual perception, various media, and the role they play in our lives.

Basisboek crossmedia concepting / Reynaert & Dijkerman

Basisboek crossmedia concepting geeft een eerste aanzet tot crossmediale theorievorming. Aan de orde komen de speerpunten van het crossmediaconcept: storytelling, usability, cocreatie, mediumspecificiteit en relevantie. Er wordt onderscheid gemaakt tussen een transmediaal (autonoom) concept en een geintegreerd (afhankelijk) concept.

No story, no fans. Build your business through stories that resonate / Stevens

Raf doesn’t try to impose one good model of storytelling. Instead, through dozens of examples, some solid advice, and some well-formulated tips, he encourages readers to find their own storytelling voices.

Integrated communication: Concern, internal and marketing communication

This book offers a new approach to communication, focusing on the communication needs of profit/non-profit organizations and their social environment. The book outline three domains - concern, internal, and marketing communication - described from the starting point of the communication needs of organizations. Subsequently, an integral approach is used to discuss information processing by the receiver, communication research, organization of communication, and communication in an international perspective. The theoretical basis is clarified by means of case studies and assignments

Books

Journal articles

Recommended

  • Macnamara, J. (2005). Media content analysis: Its uses, benefits and best practice methodology.  Asia Pacific Public Relations Journal, 6(1), 1– 34. Retrieved on August 8, 2018, from https://amecorg.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/10/Media-Content-Analysis-Paper.pdf

  • Ashley, C., & Tuten, T. (2015). Creative strategies in social media marketing: An exploratory study of branded social content and consumer engagement. Psychology & Marketing, 32(1), 15-27. doi:10.1002/mar.20761 (Find the full text in the Business Source Complete database or the Communication and Mass Media Complete database).

  • Harms, B., Bijmolt, T. H., & Hoekstra, J. C. (2017). Digital native advertising: Practitioner perspectives and a research agenda. Journal of Interactive Advertising, 17(2), 80-91. doi:10.1080/15252019.2017.1357513

  • Woodside, A.G.,Sood, SCMiller, K.E.When consumers and brands talk: Storytelling theory and research. Psychology & Marketing, 25(2),97-145.  (Find the full text in the Business Source Complete database or the Communication and Mass Media Complete database).

Journals

Media Theory is an independent, online and open access journal of peer-reviewed, theoretical interventions into all aspects of media and communications. International and interdisciplinary in scope, the editors encourage submissions that critically engage with the theoretical frameworks and concepts that tend to be taken for granted in national or disciplinary perspectives.

The full text articles of this peer-reviewed journal are available here

New Media & Society engages in critical discussions of the key issues arising from the scale and speed of new media development, drawing on a wide range of disciplinary perspectives and on both theoretical and empirical research. Topics to be covered include: digitalization and convergence; interactivity and virtuality; consumption and citizenship; innovation, regulation and control; the cultures of the Internet; patterns and inequalities of use; community and identity in electronic space; time and space in global culture and everyday life; the politics of cyberspace.

The full text articles of this peer-reviewed  journal are available in the database Sage Premier

The International Journal of Communication is an online, multi-media,  interdisciplinary journal that, while centered in communication, is open and welcoming to contributions from the many disciplines and approaches that meet at the crossroads that is communication study. We are interested in scholarship that crosses disciplinary lines and speaks to readers from a range of theoretical and methodological perspectives  and committed to excellence in communication scholarship, journalism, media research, and application. Peer-reviewed. Full text articles of this journal can be found on the website of IJOC and in the full text database Communication and Mass Media Complete

Book list